What is this?

I bought this from the farmers market where it was labeled calabasas. I thought it was some kind of zucchini, but I was told it was a kind of cucumber. A cucumber with peach fuzz on the outside.

Here it is with the skin off and sliced:

Maybe it is mo qua, otherwise known as fuzzy melon or hairy gourd?

I served it raw, sprinkled with salt, pepper, smoked paprika, and ground chipotle and ancho chili pepper. It was very good, like cucumber.

Here is a recipe for cooking it from Joanne Chang of Flour Bakery (who has a cookbook coming out).

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “What is this?”

  1. Madam Chow Says:

    Calabasa means gourd in Spanish. It has hair, you say? Just when I think I’ve seen everything . . . .

  2. Julie M. Says:

    I love mystery fruits and vegetables! That definitely looks like an interesting one. I was also intrigued by the hair.

  3. lisamichele Says:

    I lov going to the framer’s market or gourmet emporium and seeing cool looking fruits and veggies that are a complete conundrum to me. I think you just topped out with a hairy cucumber aka melon, which is super cool. Does it taste exactly like cucumber, or a little sweeter I imagine?

Leave a Reply

