Marie-Hélène’s Apple Cake

Quite by accident, I ended up making this apple cake the same week that it was the recipe of the week for a new baking group that is going through Dorie Greenspan’s Around my French Table. I’ve had my eye on this recipe for a while.

It is different from the Fall Apple Cake that I made recently because it has much less flour in relation to eggs and sugar(3/4 cup flour to 2 eggs/3/4 cup sugar instead of 2 cups flour/2 eggs/1 cup sugar) and more apples (I used 24 ounces of apples).  So the cake is moister and more delicate.

Of course, my cake was especially delicate because I actually didn’t use flour at all. Instead, I used potato starch (125 g.), and it worked like a charm. Other changes: extra-large eggs, oil (3.75 ounces) of butter, lemon juice instead of rum and a spoonful of vanilla sugar to give it real vanilla punch. I added a bit of cinnamon the second time I made this cake (yes, I made it a second time in one week!).

The first cake was baked in a large glass pie plate and the second in a 8″ square tin. Both worked perfectly.

My husband really loved this cake (and he was a fan of the earlier apple cake, too). I am so excited to be able to add a foolproof apple cake to my Passover baking repertoire.

If you want to see what other people have done with this recipe, check out the links here. Oh, and here are the recipes from this month’s series of recipes for FFwD.

Update: I made this cake with flour, and I like it better made with potato starch. And I discovered that the lemon juice is a must.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Marie-Hélène’s Apple Cake”

  1. shoshana Says:

    This sounds great. I was sitting here trying to figure out what to do with the apples sitting on my counter and now I know. I’m on my way to bake it right now. Thanks for posting another great recipe.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Shoshana! I can’t wait to see how you “tweak” this recipe. I loved this cake and am all ready to make another. It has such a great balance of apples and cake.

  2. Mia Says:

    Oh this sounds so good and am sure ur thrilled with the happy coincidence!!
    I sure lovedd the cake too!

  3. onewetfoot Says:

    That’s great that potato starch works so well. I used a gluten-free all-purpose flour (rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour) the second time I made this cake.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Teresa! I love how you made this into cupcakes. Great idea! I have been experimenting with gluten free flours, but I really love the tender crumb you get with potato starch (and lack of grittiness). I think that it works really well with eggy batters, and the apples help keep it moist.

  4. Elaine Says:

    I like the changes that you made to this cake and will have to try them. I have never used potato starch, so I am interested in trying it. This is such a great recipe I know that I will be making it often and changing it up a bit each time!

  5. Michel Rostang’s Double Chocolate Mousse Cake (Dorie Greenspan) « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] made lots of Dorie desserts for Hanukah: speculoos, apple cake (this time with flour instead of potato starch), this mousse cake, and […]

  6. You Say Apple Cake, I Say Apple Kugel « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] above picture is from this much earlier post–I have no pictures from the two apple cakes/kugels that I made for Pesach. But, it is the […]

  7. Other Blogs, Other Rosh Hashana Posts: Honey and Apple Cakes « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Dorie Greenspan Apple Cake, made gluten-free […]

Leave a Reply

