Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is the second recipe that I have made from Silvana Nardone’s Cooking for Isaiah.

 

Silvana Nardone says that people tell her that these cookies are even better than regular chocolate chip cookies.

My thoughts: quite good, but still has that grittiness that I noticed with the chocolate cake. Is this the rice flour? Solvable by using more potato starch and less rice flour? Also, the cookies don’t seem to get as brown as regular chocolate chips. Eliminate the white sugar and use all dark brown?

There is a variation that substitutes 4 Tbl. cocoa for 3 Tbl. of the flour to make chocolate chocolate chip cookies. Silvana notes that the key to GF baking is using as little GF flour as possible; Swapping out some flour for cocoa or ground nuts improves texture.

Other Notes:

I weighed the ingredients, and here is what I got: 2.75 Tbl. potato starch (30 g./1 ounce); 5.5 Tbl. tapioca (45-50 g./2.75 ounces); 11 Tbl. rice flour (140 g./3.75-4 ounces); total weight of flour ingredients 215-220 g./7.5-7.75 ounces. This total weight is interesting because the volume is 19 Tbl., or a little over a cup of flour. This amount of all-purpose flour would be about 5 ounces. So gluten free flour mix can be substituted cup for cup, but not weight for weight? I got 33 cookies instead of the 1 1/2 dozen yield stated in the recipe. Baking for 12 minutes was still the right amount of time.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Nancy Baggett Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my site and commenting. Those cookies look really good. I happened to taste a recipe Silvana Nardone made from her book–donuts, I recall–and I really couldn’t tell they were gluten-free. They didn’t seem gritty, though maybe the cinnamon-granulated sugar on the outside masked that quality.

    I think maybe she’s right about the key being to use as little g-f flour as possible, but since I don’t do a lot of g-f baking I haven’t proven that.

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks, Nancy. I read that Silvana Nardone made amazing tasting doughnuts for an IACP conference (Al Dente blog / Rebekah Denn).

    I have researched this online and have read that grittiness is a problem with rice flour, but that it really depends on brand. Nardone favors Bob’s Red Mill, which is supposed to have a particularly fine grind (autismspot.com says it is the finest grind). So, I am guessing Nardone’s doughnuts tasted less gritty than they would have tasted made with the brand of rice flour that I used.

  3. Jacque Says:

    They sure look good. I’ve never tried GF baking, it sounds so interesting and it’s nice to know there are alternatives to baking with flour.

  4. Mia Says:

    I have never baked gluten free but u tempt me to with ur super lookin CC n lods of tips!
    thannnk u !!

  5. Chocolate Chip Cookies for Passover (Gluten-Free) « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Gluten-free chocolate chip cookies for Passover.Usually, chocolate chip cookies are at their best warm from the oven, but I actually prefer these after they have cooled and crisped up. No, they don’t taste just like regular chocolate chips, but they are very good–even better than these gluten-free chocolate chips. […]

Leave a Reply

