Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes

I have been reading through Silvana Nardone’s gluten-free cookbook, Cooking for Isaiah.  The book is a product of the author’s quest to create kid-friendly gluten-free food for her son, Isaiah. The book has a chocolate birthday cake and baked-not-fried chocolate-dipped chocolate doughnuts. Both recipes are based off the same basic chocolate cake batter, which is a basic chocolate dump cake.

I tried scaling the batter down to make a small batch of six cupcakes. This involved some complicated calculations because I was also trying to scale down the gluten free flour mix to make just the small amount that I needed for a tiny batch of cupcakes. The mix is basically potato starch, rice flour, and tapioca starch, with salt and xantham gum added. The only ingredient I was missing was the xantham gum. The ratio of ingredients is basically 4/rice:2/tapioca:1/potato. I had to fudge a little: the scaled down recipe needed 3/4 cup flour, and I used 14 Tbl. because it was easier to figure out the flour in multiples of seven spoonfuls.

Even so, the cupcakes had a texture that was startlingly similar to regular cupcakes. Much more chewy than cake made with potato starch alone (which is usually what I use for gluten-free cakes). My only issue was with a slight grittiness that I detected. The rice flour?

My family gobbled it all up, so I would rank this a huge success. Now, I have to try the chocolate chip cookies, which Silvana says are better than regular chocolate chips. (and speaking of cookies, the tops of these cupcakes got so crispy and chewy that I bet that they would make great drop cookies)

Other dessert recipes from this book:

Vanilla birthday cake
Banana Doughnuts
Cinnamon Spice Doughnuts

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

