FFwD: Speculoos

I made the speculoos from Dorie’s Around My French Table.  Here is the thing: the recipe kind of looks like a chocolate cookie recipe, but without the chips and with some spices added in. When raw, the dough has the same texture, and when baked, the cookies have the same texture: warm from the oven, the cookies are crisp without and chewy within, and when cooled, they are crispy-caramel-ey in the exact same way as chocolate chip cookies.

When my son had this cookie, he asked: where are the chocolate chips? Following a suggestion from Dorie to sandwich these cookies with ganache, I melted chips onto the just baked cookies and then pressed them together.

I think I liked the cookies better as simple spice cookies. I’m not sure I like the chocolate with the spices.

But back to the dough and its similarity to Tollhouse cookie dough. I’m not sure if I did something wrong, but my cookies did not bake up with the sharp definition around the edges that is in the picture on Dorie’s blog. For all my hard work chilling the dough, rolling the dough, cutting out teeny weeny scalloped cookies, carefully transferring them to parchment lined baking sheets . . . . for all that hard work, the cookies looked like I had just made balls of dough from a drop cookie recipe and flattened them.

If I made these again, I wouldn’t bother with the rolling and cutting. I would just roll balls of dough and flatten them.

I must say that I like this recipe enough to leave out the spices and add chips  and just turn it into a chocolate chip cookie recipe.

This cookie recipe is one of the December recipes from French Fridays with Dorie.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “FFwD: Speculoos”

  1. Elaine Says:

    They were good sandwiched with nutella and sprinkled with confectioner’s sugar so I can imagine how wonderful they were with the chocolate ganache. I think the key to making these is freezing the dough (I read that on several other blogs of members who had done them). They were a lot of work having to keep chilling the dough, but I did wonder if you could just put them on the cookie sheet in balls and if they would flatten out in the oven like other recipes. Might be worth a try. I do love the dough and I like your idea of adding choc chips!

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks, Elaine. I didn’t follow the instructions to roll out in three parts–I just rolled out the whole thing on one big sheet of parchment on a sheet pan and stuck the whole thing in the refrigerator. Maybe you are right, freezing would have helped. But I chilled the cookies after I cut them and I though that would have helped them hold their shape during baking.

  3. Gloria Says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I enjoyed these cookies with chocolate…but I’m a big sucker for chocolate. I did not temper my chocolate…I must be honest I’ve never tempered chocolate…your comment prompted me to research the official tempering process. I usually melt my chocolate in a glass bowl over a small pot of simmering water….but I wasn’t aware there was an official cooling process. But I’m interested to try it out to compare to what I’ve done in the past. For my speculoos I used some melting chips that I had melted for another project (cake truffles) and I had some left over. But in the past I’ve used a good quality brand chocolate and chopped it up and melted it. Occasionally I find the chocolate doesn’t fully dry…so I’m excited to try tempering. Thanks for teaching me something new today. 🙂 Your cookies look tasty by the way! Mine lost some of the shape of the scallop cutter too….not sure what the secret is there. Trial and error I suppose!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Gloria! I appreciate you stopping by to explain your chocolate dipping secrets. Your chocolate dipped speculoos look so good! If you mastering tempering, I am going to have to ask for tips . . . (I find tempering so finicky)

Leave a Reply

