Super Bowl XLV Cake

I hope to get a better picture tomorrow when there is sunlight, but for now, this will have to do. I made a Super Bowl XLV cake the same way that I made the puppy cake: frozen buttercream transfer.

To review, to make the buttercream transfer, you pipe the design in reverse on a sheet of waxed paper and then freeze it:

I spread a layer of frosting over the above design (green frosting over everything but the football, and then white frosting over the football). Then I lay a sheet of waxed paper over that and froze it.

Meanwhile, I made a batch of Zoe’s chocolate cake in a 9×13 pan. Then, I crumb coated the cake with white frosting and refrigerated it. I gave another skim coat of frosting before inverting the buttercream transfer onto the cake. To get the sides green, I piped green frosting over the white using a basket weave tip and then smoothed everything with an offset spatula and a plastic scraper.

Originally, I had a more ambitious plan for this cake, including a cookies ‘n cream mousse filling. My mother talked me out of that. Sticking to the idea of quitting while I am still ahead, I have not followed through on my initial plans to pipe a chocolate border around the base.

I feel comfortable with this method, but it has its limitations (unless I just need to work on my technique). I find that the buttercream is not completely smooth, and I am not too keen about there being texture. Designs are not always as crisp as I would like. And the piping is really tedious for large designs. I got wrinkles in my design, and I think that was because the buttercream defrosted before I flipped it. It has to be rock hard and you have to move fast. When I made the puppy, the design stayed rigid when I moved it, but the football design got soft and sagged as I was transferring it.

On the other had, there is no dealing with fondant, which has a taste that turns some people off.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Super Bowl XLV Cake”

  1. Barbara Bakes Says:

    What a fun cake! Loved reading the step by step directions. Have fun tomorrow!

  2. Lauren Says:

    That looks impressive! (The puppy cake is really cute, by the way.) I definitely prefer buttercream to fondant, although I’ve never had homemade fondant. Maybe it tastes better?

    In other news, I found Great British Cooking yesterday at the used bookstore and snapped it right up.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Lauren! And that is really awesome about snagging a used copy of Great British Cooking–I can’t wait to see what you make from it! Love that book.

  3. Jennifer in BreadLand Says:

    Wow – beautiful cake! Can’t spot a wrinkle in it anywhere…

Leave a Reply

