Super Bowl Cake: Part Two

Well, I had leftover frosting after making the other Super Bowl cake, and I had another party to go to.

This is brownie batter baked in an oval pan, with a grass piping tip used to pipe green frosting around the sides, chocolate frosting and sprinkles on top, and white piped letters.

Not so complicated as the other cake, but much easier to throw together.

I also tried making little Oreo truffle footballs a la Bakerella 2008, and all I can say is that these footballs are a little harder to make then they look. It is quite hard to make the football shape for some reason–although I might just have been tired. And when you freeze the truffles before dipping, the footballs go a bit out of shape as they sag on the sheet pan.

On the plus side, they work well with Tofutti “cream Cheese” and pareve Leiber’s chocolate bark.

I also discovered that it is not such a good idea to place these footballs on an icing rack to cool. It does prevent feet from forming under the footballs because the excess chocolate drips through the grate, but the truffles stick mercilessly when they cool. Not worth the aggravation. I was so irritated at my cracked and broken truffles (the result of prying them free from the grate) that I lost all heart for melting and piping white chocolate for the details. Instead I used leftover white frosting and didn’t even bother to unclog the tip when it seemed jammed. There must have been something in the tip because the frosting came out erratically, causing the white piping to look quite sloppy. Oh, well, live and learn.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Super Bowl Cake: Part Two”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Mmmm brownies. I haven’t made any in a long time. What recipe do you use?

    OK–making Oreo truffles into footballs looks like a pain! I’m so lazy I would probably never even attempt it! My grandmother makes Oreo truffles pretty often and they taste amazing, but she just makes them into a truffle shape, which is probably easier!

    Two super bowl parties! Oh my! My husband and I were so excited because we weren’t invited to any this year. 😉 We don’t watch any sports except for the occasional OU football game, so were glad to stay home and watch Destry Rides Again on Netflix.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Lauren. I happen to love two different brownie recipes that are in the first Greyston Bakery Cookbook. I used the one that is based upon melted sweet chocolate (the other is cocoa based). The recipe is 1/2 cup flour, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup sugar, 4 Tbl, butter, 8 ounces sweet chocolate, 1 Tbl. coffee powder, 1 Tbl. hot water. Here is what you do: whip the eggs and sugar, while meanwhile melting the butter and chocolate. Combine the coffee powder with the hot water and add it to the eggs. Mix in the melted chocolate/butter, and then the flour. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

  2. Lauren Says:

    Thanks for posting your recipe, Laura! It sounds so much easier than the last batch of brownies I made.

    I have to say, re: your comment on my blog that, although it takes some practice, learning to set my hair has been life-changing. I have naturally-curly hair that is unruly and if it got the least bit wet or windblown or I went out in humid weather I ended up with a brillo pad on my head. If I set my hair, I just run a brush through it and it’s as good as new. I can’t believe it!

    Also, if possible and if you get a chance, I’d love to see the shortening ad! Sounds right up my alley!

    Hope you’re having a wonderful week!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Wow, that is amazing. I have hair like that. I really need to give this pin curl thing a try. I know my grandmother swore by it. I will try to take pictures of the booklet and post them when I get a chance. And the brownies are really worth making–excellent.

Leave a Reply

