Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These are my favorite oatmeal raisin cookies. They keep well, but they are at their best warm from the oven: crusty on the outside, soft and cake-ey on the inside, and just sweet enough with a whiff of cinnamon.

And the best thing of all is that they are healthy (well, as cookies go . . .).

The recipe has evolved from one that I found, of all places, on a show called “If These Walls Could Talk.” It is a show about old houses and their histories. One couple researched their house and found tracked down the granddaughter of a woman who owned the house in the late nineteenth century. When asked for memories of her grandmother, she said her grandmother “made the best oatmeal cookies,” and she had the recipe. I actually was able to copy the recipe down from watching the show.

I have changed the recipe around a bit, substituting soy or rice milk for the dairy milk, and using whole wheat instead of white. I have also tried substituting maple syrup for the sugar and part of the liquid, but I still need to tweak that version a bit. I used a cup of maple syrup for the sugar and reduced the milk to 1/2 cup, but it was too much moisture. Next time I would use 3/4 cup of maple syrup and 1/3 cup milk (or maybe leave out the milk entirely). You can also add in wheat germ or flax seeds (ground or whole). Chocolate chips are great added in along with the raisins.

The recipe could not be easier to make–all you need is a bowl and a wooden spoon to mix up the batter.

Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Mix together in a large bowl:
2 cups King Arthur white whole wheat flour (or regular all-purpose white flour), 9-10 ounces (if you use whole wheat, it will be 10 ounces)
3 cups quick oats (or old fashioned will do), 9.75 ounces
1 1/4 cups sugar, 9 ounces
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 cup raisins
1 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Add the following liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well to thoroughly combine:
2 eggs
1 cup oil (cold pressed safflower oil or corn oil is what I use)
2/3 cup milk, soy milk, or rice milk (coconut milk, at least the kind that comes boxed like soy milk, works well, too)

Optional: 1/3 cup wheat germ or ground or whole flax seeds and 1 cup of walnuts

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Use a small cookie scoop (close to 1 tsp. size) to scoop out approximately 80 cookies 125 cookies, or, if you use a larger Tbl. sized scoop, about 80 cookies (the yield will be slightly greater if you use chocolate chips in addition to raisins–UPDATE: I just realized that I used my larger Tbl. cookie scoop to make these. With my smaller tsp. scoop and with adding in chips and nuts I can get closer to 8-10 dozen cookies. The cookies bake the same time and come out a bit browner and a bit crisper. Update two: I just made these cookies again with the small scoop, using chocolate chips instead of raisins and got 10 1/2 dozen cookies). Place the cookies about an inch apart on parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake the cookies for approximately 12 minutes, or until starting to turn golden.

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Sounds delicious! I haven’t tried the King Arthur white whole wheat flour yet, but I love their all-purpose whole wheat. I get so excited when their catalog comes in the mail!

    • Laura Says:

      Thanks, Lauren. The white whole wheat will change your, well, maybe not your life, but definitely your baking. It is more subtle in flavor than the regular, which is ideal when you don’t want to obvious a whole wheat flavor.

  2. Julia @ Mélanger Says:

    I love how you’re experimenting with recipes to make them more healthy. Something that’s on my mind right now, too. I saw a recipe for cookies using rye flour the other day. Have you used that at all?

  3. Barbara Bakes Says:

    What a fun story behind the recipe. I’m always on the look out for a healthier cookie recipe.

  4. Arica Saltzman Says:

    Are these the Whole Wheat Oatmeal cookies you said you send your husband for breakfast? If not can you point me in the right directions?
    Thanks!!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Yes! These are the cookies. Just this morning my husband was asking me to make more. I have used maple syrup instead of sugar, but you need to cut back or eliminate the other added liquid (rice milk, soy milk, whatever you use).

Leave a Reply

