Israeli Snack Mix

This is insanely addictive.

It is based (very loosely) on Chex Mix and an Indian snack mix known variously as chivda, chewda, chevda, Bombay mix, and a bunch of other things.  It is also known as the Indian version of Chex Mix. I was eating some Bissli falafel snack, and it made me think of sev, which are these fried noodles made from chickpea flour. Not that I have ever tasted sev, but the Bissli snack looked and tasted the way that I imagined sev would taste.

So, I looked at a bunch of recipes for the Indian snack mix and the basic Chex Mix recipe and then went into the kitchen and winged it. I used Amba powder as my spice base, along with cumin seeds, mustard seeds, garlic powder, and some Worcestershire sauce.

What makes it Israeli snack mix? Well, mostly the use of Bissli, which is made by Osem  in Israel. But also the addition of amba, which (when made into a sauce) is a popular accompaniment to falafel in Israel. I got my amba powder (not the same as the amba spice mix!) from Israel–it can be hard to find.

Israeli Snack Mix
2 cups rice Chex
2 cups Cheerios
3 cups Kix
small bag Bissli snack (I didn’t have the falafel flavor, so I used the BBQ–any flavor would be good)
1-2 cups pretzel sticks
1 cup peanuts
1/2 cup cashews
1 cup raisins or craisins
2-3 Tbl oil
1/2 tsp. cumin seeds
1/2 tsp. mustard seeds
1-2 tsp. amba powder, or to taste (I’m guessing it contains citric acid, sugar (?), salt, turmeric, and other spices, plus maybe ground mango?)
1/2 – 1 tsp. garlic powder
1-2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. ground pepper
1-2 Tbl. Worcestershire sauce (I used a fish free brand, Gefen)

Heat the oil, add the seeds, nuts and dried fruit. I suppose you should cook until the seeds pop or the mixture gets fragrant or the nuts start to toast, but I was impatient and just let it get hot. Then I added the other spices and tossed in the cereal/pretzels (having turned off the heat at this point).  Add the Bissli and adjust the seasonings to taste.

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Israeli Snack Mix”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Looks delicious! I love Chex Mix…

  2. Shoshana Ohriner Says:

    This looks delicious! I absolutely love amba sauce but I’ve never seen it in powdered form. I’m going to be on the lookout for it, thanks!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Shoshana. Amba powder can be hard to find . . . But, I’m sure you will find many uses for it if you can get your hands on it. I think it is like the Indian spice Amchur.

Leave a Reply

