Purim Pops

I’m going with a silver theme for mishloach manot.  Just for fun, I made these pops, inspired by Bakerella’s Oreo Kisses.

To make them, crush a package of chocolate sandwich cookies (I used a package of Bloomie’s chocolate filled sandwich cookies). Combine the cookie crumbs with an 8 ounce package of Tofutti “cream cheese.” Shape the mixture into about 40 “kisses” (about 1/2 ounce each). Freeze.

Melt a pound of pareve chocolate bark (Leiber’s or Shufra semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, the kind made with cocoa and hydrogenated fat instead of cocoa butter).

Stick a lollipop stick into the bottom (or not . . . these don’t have to be pops) of the kiss. Dip the kiss into the melted chocolate and let it set up. The chocolate sets up fast, so you could hold each until it sets up enough to put down. Or you could let the pops rest upright in a loaf pan (heavy enough to not fall over from the weight of the pops).

Cut 4″ or 5″ square pieces of foil and push the pop stick through the center. Wrap the kiss in foil. If desire, place a strip of paper printed with a message in the foil before sealing. I handprinted on strips of parchment paper, but using a printer would be easier and neater.

See also Hamantaschen Pops

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Purim Pops”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    Ooooh, these are SO pretty. What a wonderful idea. I have seen so many nice mishloach manot ideas this year, I don’t know how I’ll decide next year! But this one’s definitely going on the list. Thanks!

  2. Lauren Says:

    I know so little about Jewish holidays and traditions, so I’m always glad to check out your blog and your links and expand my knowledge!

    My grandma makes Oreo truffles for Christmas–they are sooo yummy.

  3. Ellie (Almost Bourdain) Says:

    So dainty! Love it.

  4. Hamantaschen Pops « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] must really be in a Bakerella mode lately. In addition to making cookie truffle pops shaped like Hershey’s Kisses, I made cookie truffle pops shaped like . . . . […]

  5. Laur Says:

    What else did you put in that is silver/gray? Trying to do a silver theme but having trouble coming up with what goes in.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I wish I remembered what else I put in my mishloach manot that year! If you make cupcakes in foil cups, that would count as part of the silver theme. Or anything baked in a foil pan. Wilton makes silver sprinkles that you can buy for putting on cookies or over cupcake frosting. And if you can find silver wrapped chocolate coins, that is good, too. You might look for chips in silver bags. I think terra chips come in silver bags. There are some drinks that come with silver labels. I think Diet Coke comes in a silver can. Just cruise the supermarket looking for silver. You will find lots of stuff. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

