Crustless Mini Broccoli Quiches

My husband likes quiche, but he has an aversion to extremely moist, custardy quiches. He likes quiche firm and eggy, almost like a frittata. So, I knew I hit the jackpot when I spotted a egg-heavy and liquid-light vegetable quiche recipe in an advertisement for a Wallace and Gromit movie.

This is an easy, delicious quiche. Made crustless, it could probably be modified for Passover by using potato starch instead of flour. Since there is so little liquid, the recipe would probably work even if you just left the flour out and didn’t bother to swap in a substitute at all.

I had about 12 ounces of Bodek frozen broccoli to use up, and my husband requested mini-quiches, so I modified the original recipe a bit so that it would make six crustless quiche muffins. Crustless Mini Broccoli Quiches
makes 6

12 ounces frozen broccoli, thawed, squeezed very dry
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1/3 cup half-n-half (original recipe called for milk, but I had some half-n-half to use up)
1/4 cup sliced scallions
2/3 cup grated cheddar
1 1/2 Tbl. flour (optional, can also use potato starch)
salt, pepper

Combine everything and put in a well greased muffin pan (6 muffins). Bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes, or until the muffins are firm all the way through to the center and the tops are browned. The muffins will rise, souffle-like, about an inch above the pan when they are cooked all the way through.

Note: for a 9″ quiche, use 6 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, 2 cups broccoli (or 1 cup chopped broccoli, 1 cup sliced mushrooms, but I like to saute the mushrooms before adding them), 1 cup grated cheddar cheese, 1/2 cup chopped scallions, 2 Tbl. flour, plus salt and pepper. Bake for 55-60 minutes. I have also made this quiche using zucchini and mushrooms, but I saute the vegetables before adding them to the quiche to drive off excess liquid.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Crustless Mini Broccoli Quiches”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    These look really good. Good tip about squeezing the frozen veggies really well. I think that’s where I usually go wrong.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Rivki. Yes, I find that squeezing out excess moisture from frozen veggies is key. With fresh veggies, sauteeing to drive off excess moisture helps. And I find that freezing and defrosting quiches leads to wateriness, too.

  2. Good Food for Little Fingers | tasty tallahassee Says:

    […] Turkey and Broccoli Mini Quiches Adapted from Pragmatic Attic […]

Leave a Reply

