Naked Spanakopita

For Passover, I made a spinach kugel inspired by a recipe from Ina Garten’s first book. Her recipe for spinach pie has enticed me since I bought her book many years ago. The concept is that it is like spanakopita, but with more filling. Ina’s recipe calls for lining a small pan with a few layers of buttered filo, and then piling on a huge mound of spinach. I was thinking at first of replacing the filo with Passover blintz leaves (bletlach), but got lazy and decided to leave the spinach pie “naked.”

The resulting spinach kugel was delicious, but I think I would like it better spread thinner, in a larger pan. Next time, I would use a 9″x13″ pan instead of an 8″ pan.

Naked Spanakopita for Passover

Adapted from Ina Garten’s recipe for Spinach Pie, The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook

Defrost and squeeze bone dry:
2 lb. bag of Bodek frozen spinach

Saute until translucent and starting to brown:
2 onions, chopped (next time, I would double this amount of onions)
2 Tbl. salted butter (more butter also, or add in some olive oil)

Combine the spinach and sauteed onions with the following:
2 sliced scallions
1/3 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
salt, pepper, to taste (about 2 tsp. kosher salt, 1 1/2 tsp. pepper)

Mix in:
6 eggs (large or extra large)
2 tsp. matzoh meal or potato starch

Stir in gently:
8 ounces feta, cubed

Put the mixture into a 8″ or 9″ round pan that is well greased with butter. Sprinkle over more Parmesan cheese. Bake at 375 degrees for an hour, or until firm and starting to brown.

(Note: I would try this spread in a 9″x13″ pan next time, and adjust the baking time accordingly).

Serves 6 to 8

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Naked Spanakopita”

  1. Feta Compli « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] year for Pesach, I made what I called Naked Spanakopita: spinach filling without the filo. It was good, but I felt it was too crowded in a round pan and […]

Leave a Reply

