Yom HaShoah: Pesach, 1938

My blogging friend Lauren Hairston has been doing a series of posts, Life This Week, in which she links back to articles in Life magazine for what would have been the current week in 1938. Her most recent post in this series (the April 18, 1938 issue) linked to an article on Passover and the situation of the Jews in Europe.

I think you will find this article as fascinating, chilling, and thought provoking as I did.

Also worth looking at: The OU has posted a series of photographs from Shem Olam, an Israel-based organization dedicated to researching and recording Jewish life during the Holocaust.

Articles from the Jerusalem Post on Holocaust Rememberance Day

“This year, the central theme of the ceremony will be Fragments of Memory: The Faces Behind the Documents, Artifacts and Photographs, a campaign launched by the Holocaust museum aimed at collecting and preserving documents so that future generations may learn about the genocide of the Jewish people by the Nazis from first-hand sources.”

Netanyahu’s speech.

Go to Yad Vashem’s website for more information.

One more: take a look at this wonderful post from Miriyummy.

Leora has more links for Yom HaShoah on her blog Here in HP.

In Our Small Garden posts about Janusz Korcak–very moving–don’t miss!

A Mother In Israel links to a new online archive with Holocaust era material from the American Joint Distribution Committee.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Yom HaShoah: Pesach, 1938”

  1. Miriyummy Says:

    Thanks for the link, and thanks for your lovely comment on the post.

  2. lisamichele Says:

    I almost forgot Monday was Yom HaShoah..thankfully my BF reminded me. Never, ever forget. Excellent links.

  3. Lauren Says:

    I’m glad you liked the article. After I read it, I couldn’t stop thinking about all the people who fled the Nazis only to have Germany invade their new home, as well. I can’t even imagine how horrible that must have been.

    P.S. Miriyummy’s post was great. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  4. BookishIma Says:

    Thanks so much for the mention! I’m glad to have found you. Such important links you have here – I will take my time looking through them.

Leave a Reply

