Are You Serving Dairy on Shavuot? Pareve Cheese Danishes

“Are you serving dairy for Shavuot?”

The question caught me off guard. “Uh, yeah . . .”

“All the meals … all dairy? Who can eat that much dairy?!”

Okay, so some people are not so into eating all dairy on Shavuoth.  Or, if they are lactose-intolerant or vegan , they are not into eating any dairy.

Those people who want to have their cheesecake and to eat meat too do the cheesecake kiddush before a meat meal.

I suppose you could also make pareve cheesecake . . . But, some people don’t like using soy-based pareve “cream cheese.”

A couple of years ago, I made really delicious “cheese” danishes. Completely pareve, they get their cheese-ey flavor from being dipped in a vanilla-lemon scented syrup. I don’t know why the lemon-vanilla flavor makes the crescents tastes dairy, but it does.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Are You Serving Dairy on Shavuot? Pareve Cheese Danishes”

  1. ilanadavita Says:

    Funny you should have written this post. I do not know if I’ll cook only dairy but I certainly plan to have several dairy meals.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Ahh, I see you are starting a series of posts on Shavuoth recipes! The savory crumble sounds very nice . . . .
      I will have to see what else you make–I want to make something different for Yom Tov and I am already starting to mull over my choices.

  2. Mrs. S. Says:

    Thanks for the link!

    Those danishes sound delicious, but right now, I’m still too full from our yummy Yom HaAtzma’ut BBQ to start thinking about Shavuot menus…🙂

  3. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    Great idea! I love dairy but am lactose intolerant and it positively KILLS me. One Shavuot I ended up in the emergency room – I had such a stomach ache, I thought I was having a heart attack!
    This looks like a great way to keep the spirit of the chag without ending up in the hospital!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks, Rivki. I have also very successfully made cheesecake with Tofutti converting a recipe from Maida Heatter for regular cheesecake. Maybe I will make and post this . . .

  4. Daniela@isreview1 Says:

    wow I gotta try these – I always struggle to find non-dairy non-soy items for friends I have over often who can not eat either – I wounder how and why lemon-vanilla flavor makes them tastes dairy and if I can use this “trick” for anything else? Thanks for the idea:)

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      You know, cream cheese is mostly texture with some richness and some tang. I think the lemon vanilla flavor gives the illusion of dairy because we associate the combination of tangy lemon and floral vanilla flavors with the cheesecake they usually accompany.

      My thinking is that these would be even more like cheese danishes if they were shaped liked delekelech (a square, with the corners folded inward). An almond filling (like frangipane) might also give the soft textured filling that would really conjure up cheese danishes.

  5. Super Easy Delkelech, Dairy-Free « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] was wondering if I could apply the principal behind the dairy-free cheese danishes to delkelech. With those pastries, a dip in a lemon-vanilla syrup gives the cheese-less crescent […]

Leave a Reply

