My Version of Mrs. S’s Broccoli Kugel

Mrs. S posted this as a Pesach recipe, but it is good anytime. I only had a half a bag of frozen Bodek broccoli florets, so I cut the recipe in half and made a few other little changes. The flavor is much better and fresher tasting than most broccoli kugels.

Non-Gebrochts Broccoli Kugel, Adapted from Mrs. S

Saute until golden:
2 onions (I used one regular and one Vidalia onion)
1 tsp. salt
4 Tbl. olive oil

Add towards the ends of cooking:
1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 tsp, Hawaiij, soup spice (I liked this bit of spice, but my husband did not, so I wouldn’t add it again)

Add, and adjust seasoning, using salt and pepper, to taste:
1 lb. frozen broccoli florets

Combine and add:
3 Tbl. potato starch
3-4 eggs (I used 4 extra-large because I am using up eggs leftover from Pesach)

Put the mixture in a greased 8″ square pan and bake at 350 degrees for a half hour to 45 minutes.

Note: you are really supposed to add the potato starch to the onions after sauteeing, but I clearly wasn’t paying attention and mixed it with the eggs instead. It still worked out well.

The original recipe called for onion soup mix. By doubling the amount of onion, seasoning well with salt and pepper and adding a dash of Hawaiij, I was able to get the same savory taste without the onion soup mix.

Tags: , ,

5 Responses to “My Version of Mrs. S’s Broccoli Kugel”

  1. Bubbe Says:

    This kugel is delicious!!!! A big improvement on the usual broc. mayo. onion soup dish.
    Bubbe

  2. Bubbe Says:

    This kugel is delicious a big improvement on the usual broc. mayo. onion soup dish.
    Bubbe

  3. Mrs. S. Says:

    I like your idea of using garlic instead of the onion soup mix, and I’m glad to hear that adding the potato starch with the eggs worked.

    (When I adapted this recipe from my regular chametz broccoli kugel – which calls for bread crumbs instead – I was concerned that the potato starch wouldn’t hold up as well, and so I decided to add it to the onions. Doing it your way is obviously much simpler!)

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Thanks for a great recipe! I would try your way of adding the potato starch to the onions just to see if it makes a difference, although it works fine the way I did it.

Leave a Reply

