Minimalist Pickles

Leora’s post inspired me to make pickles. I noticed that she used an empty plastic rice container (I have lots of those!), cucumbers, salt, oaks leaves, garlic and pickling spices (I can get that!).

I stuffed six kirby pickles into the clear plastic jar (cleaned well and rinsed with boiling water), added a pinch of the pickling spice, six huge cloves of garlic, plus water to cover and kosher salt (2  Tbl.). Oh, and a couple of oak leaves on top of everything. I loosely screwed on the lid and waited.

Four days later, I had sour pickles.

Here is another pickle recipe, from Arthur Schwartz, as posted on David Lebovitz’s blog.

6 Responses to “Minimalist Pickles”

  1. Leora Says:

    Interesting, that you screwed on the lid. That’s probably why it fermented so quickly! When I did that with sauerkraut, my kraut turned bad (I also wasn’t checking it every day). So I do a cloth with a rubber band to cover it, so it gets a bit of air.

    Enjoy!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I screwed the lid on very loosely so that some air could get in, plus I opened the lid every day to check on it. But, yes, my thinking was that less air would help the fermentation process along. But, you are so right that you have to really keep a very very close eye on anything fermenting. My prior experiment with this kind of fermentation was making cherry brandy (visinata). I used a lid there also, but also checked on it at least once a day.

  2. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    I have never seen oak leaves in pickles like that. So innovative! (And pretty.)

  3. ilanadavita Says:

    I am surprised that neither of you sterilizes the jar before pickling. I am tempted to try however.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Yes, you do want to clean the jar well and rinse it with boiling water. The idea of fermenting pickles is that the proper salt level of your brine will enable the growth of lactic acid bacteria and inhibit the growth of bad bacteria. If the salt level is too low, bad bacteria can grow, regardless of how clean your container was. Also, the pickles need to stay submerged in the brine, or bad bacteria can grow on the exposed parts and the batch can spoil.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

