Eggplant Parm, The Easy Way

I love Eggplant Parmesan, but I hate frying . . . So, I was thrilled to discover how well the breaded slices “fry” in the oven. All you need for this recipe is five ingredients: sliced eggplant, eggs, breadcrumbs, tomato sauce, and shredded cheese. And you don’t need exact amounts, either.

Here is how you make it:

Peel and slice eggplant (I used one eggplant, and it was enough for a small 8″x10″ casserole in a thin layer; double the amounts of everything if you want to fill a deep 9″x13″ pan) into 1/4″ thick slices. Beat a couple of egg in a bowl and put seasoned breadcrumbs on another plate (or unseasoned, but add some salt and pepper). Dip the slices in the crumbs, in the egg, and then back in the crumbs. When you run out of egg or breadcrumbs, just add more. I breaded my eggplant very heavily and I ended up using four eggs and half a 15 ounce carton of bread crumbs (a little over a cup, maybe 1 1/3 cups). This amount of crumbs and eggs should be enough for maybe two eggplants, breaded not so heavily (for 1 1/2 lbs. eggplant you need 8 ounces crumbs and four eggs).

Place each slice, as it is breaded, on foil sprayed with olive oil. Spray more olive oil spray on both sides of the eggplant slice. Continue on until all the slices are breaded and placed on the greased foil. Bake at 450 degrees for about 20 minutes, turning halfway through as the slices brown.

Spread a little tomato sauce in a casserole and layer over the eggplant.

Sprinkle over cheese (a mix of mozzarella and Parmesan is nice) and pour on more sauce and keep layering (you will need a jar to a jar and a half of sauce for one eggplant, more for two eggplant’s worth of eggplant parm; more sauce is better, about two jars to 1 1/2 lbs. eggplant).

Bake at 450 degrees covered for 10 minutes, uncovered for 15 minutes more. (I assembled the whole dish ahead of time, refrigerated it for serveral hours, and heated just before serving–I might have heated it up at a lower temperature than 450 degrees, maybe 375 degrees. When I reheated leftovers, I reheated at 350 degrees for a half hour.)

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Eggplant Parm, The Easy Way”

  1. Lauren Says:

    Oh, I love eggplant parmesan. I almost never get to have it, though, because eggplant is one of the few things Paul doesn’t like. I’ll have to make some for my lunch or the next time I’m on my own for dinner.

  2. JamieAnne Says:

    I have been thinking about eggplants for a few days. Great recipe.

  3. ilanadavita Says:

    This looks good!

  4. Rachel Says:

    This is going on the menu for shavuot! Chag sameach.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Chag Sameach! Do note that you can make the eggplant ahead without cooking it (just assemble the sauce, eggplant, cheese), and then heat it in the oven before serving. It also reheats very well. I haven’t tried freezing it . . .
      You can also heat it up at 350 degrees for about a half hour, rather than at the higher temperature.

  5. Bubbe Says:

    . I tasted this dish and it was super delicious !!! I can’t wait to make it myself and I will. I also hate frying not only because it is a pain but because it increases the calories.

  6. A tale of two eggplants | A Dash of Domestic Says:

    […] recipe I really liked was a recipe that Pragmatic Attic posted for Eggplant Parmesan. Another good recipe I found was on Kate from scratch for Rollatini di Melanzane Parmigiano. (runner […]

Leave a Reply

