Chocolate Pretzel Tart

I have meaning to make chocolate pretzel tart ever since I saw this post by G6.

I went with Susie Fishbein’s recipe, but made a few changes.

Changes: coconut oil instead of butter,7 ounces Schmerling Noblesse bittersweet chocolate instead of 8 ounces semisweet and milk chocolate, and 12 fudge filled Bloomeos instead of six Oreos. Just because I felt like it, I added a teaspoon of coffee powder to the tart shell. I chilled the tart shell instead of baking it, and I used a rectangular tart pan instead of a round tart pan.

I weighed out the ingredients because I prefer weights to volume measurements.

I’m not sure if it was the use of coconut oil, but I found that I needed to double the amount of cookie crumbs. With just six cookies, my crumb mixture was too wet and it didn’t seem to be enough for my tart pan.

Chocolate Pretzel Tart
Adapted from Susie Fishbein (Kosher by Design Teens and 20-Somethings: Cooking for the Next Generation)

Tart Shell (I think you could also use a ready made Oreo crust and sprinkle over some pretzel crumbs; or you could make a press-in dough tart shell and mix in some pretzel pieces. Actually, I think making a press-in tart shell from scratch is easier that the oreo crumb crust, and you have more control over the ingredients.)

3 ounces pretzels, pulverized, with some pretzel pieces remaining
6.5 ounces fudge filled chocolate sandwich cookies, pulverized (12 cookies–double the amount of the original recipe)
3 ounces melted coconut oil
1 tsp. coffee powder

Combine and press into either a 9″ tart shell or a rectangular tart shell. Chill or bake at 350 for 15 minutes and then cool. (I chilled the crust and made sure to loosen it from the tart pan before filling it. The sides of the tart pan came off easily; the base was a little harder to pry loose).

Ganache Filling

Fill the tart shell with the following ganache filling:

Two 3.5 ounce bars bittersweet chocolate (such as Schmerling Noblesse), chopped very, very fine and put in a heatproof bowl
7 ounces coconut milk, heated to almost boiling and poured over the finely chopped chocolate (stir gently until chocolate is melted and the ganache is fully blended and smooth)

Top the filled tart with a garnish of mini pretzel twists. (My sister has a clever idea: use chocolate dipped and sprinkle decorated pretzels as a garnish.)

Chill the filled tart for a few hours, giving it a chance to set.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Chocolate Pretzel Tart”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    This is just gorgeous. Chocolate covered pretzels are my favorite treat in the world. This dessert looks right up my alley.

  2. Couldn't Be Parve Says:

    Wow! This looks great! I love the combo of chocolate and pretzels, I am going to have to try this soon.

  3. Lauren Says:

    This looks dangerous. I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I could finish off an entire bag of Flipz all by myself. They’re my favorite gas-station snack for road trips.

  4. lisamichele Says:

    I love this! Pretzels, fudge filled cookies and chocolate is absolutely divine. Loved that you subbed coconut oil for the butter. I have some and was told it makes an amazing pie crust. Going to try it in a few weeks🙂

Leave a Reply

