Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

I wanted to serve warm chocolate chip cookies with ice cream as a Shavuot dessert. I needed them to be crusty on the outside and gooey on the inside, and I Pam Anderson’s recipe was just the thing. The secret of these cookies is melting the butter, shaping large cookies, freezing the dough balls before baking, and baking at a hot 400 degrees.

Freeze the cookies right after baking and then warm them up right before serving with ice cream. This prevents the staling that robs chocolate chip cookies of their out-of–the-oven crisp-chewy-gooey-ness.

I like weighing my ingredients, and Travelers Lunchbox conveniently converted the recipe into weights. You will have about 42-44 ounces of dough, from which you can shape twenty cookies (2 ounces each).

Note: Girl Detective, another blogger that loves this recipe, has fallen for Kate Moses’s recipe, but with the baking method of Pam Anderson’s recipe–next on my to-try list!

Here is Girl Detective’s post about the Pam Anderson recipe, with an interesting link about vacuum sealing cookie dough (and here for the original post) to “age” the dough faster.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    You got my attention with that recipe title. I am always searching for the perfect CCC. These techniques look interesting. Bookmarking this to try soon.

  2. Lauren Says:

    Oh, the chocolate chip cookie. I like them thin and crisp and husband likes them thick and chewy. It’s an ongoing household debate. I’d never thought to freeze the cookies after baking, though. Nothin’ worse than a stale cookie.

  3. Rivki Says:

    Laura, responding to your question on my blog… I live in lakewood nj and the CSA is nearby. I signed up a few months ago. Email me at rivkilocker at gmail dot com if you want more info. It’s been a great experience so far!

Leave a Reply

