Homemade Ranch Dressing

Ranch dressing is nice as a dip for raw vegetables.

Why use the mix when you can make homemade?

Authentic ranch dressing requires buttermilk, but since I rarely have that around, I used a combination of Greek yogurt thinned with some half-n-half (milk would have been fine–I just needed to use up the half-n-half). The usual ratio is 1/3 buttermilk, 1/3 sour cream, and 1/3 mayo.

Homemade Ranch Dressing

You could use 1 cup each of buttermilk and mayo instead of the yogurt and half-n-half.

6 ounces Greek yogurt
8 ounces sour cream
half-n-half or milk (enough to thin dressing to desired consistency, about 1/2-1 cup)
1 tsp. grated onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2-1 tsp. salt
white pepper, to taste (or black pepper)
2-4 Tbl. minced chives
1/4-1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
2 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, or to taste
lemon juice, to taste
2 tsp. sugar
pinch citric acid (optional, for a little sour tang)
garlic powder, onion powder, to taste, optional
if you like, you can also add some mayo, to taste

Combine everything and adjust to taste.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Homemade Ranch Dressing”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    I’ve learned that my kids enjoy veggies more when they get to dip them. This looks great.

  2. Lauren Says:

    I really need to try this. I love “house-made” ranch at restaurants but not the stuff in a bottle. I rarely ever have buttermilk, either. I don’t know why they insist on selling it in quart-sized cartons that go bad before I get through with them!

Leave a Reply

