Too Beastly Hot to Cook Cauliflower Salad

I had a cauliflower to cook, but I just couldn’t face roasting it today. The temperature is close to a hundred and the air is so thick with humidity, that when you step outside it feels like you are walking through soup. “It is like living in a terrarium,” my husband says.

So, then I remembered Rachel’s cauliflower salad, which involves NO COOKING. I made a few changes here and there, adding in corn, roasted red pepper, and chick peas.

Too Hot to Cook Cauliflower Salad
Kind of like antipasto, but all mixed together in a bowl.

1 cauliflower, cut into 1/2″ pieces
1 red bell pepper, diced small (I didn’t have red, so I used a green bell pepper and then added a diced roasted red pepper from a jar)
1 red onion, diced small (I didn’t have a red onion, so I used a Vidalia, and I soaked it in a cup of water for 15 minutes with a Tbl. of baking soda, and then thoroughly rinsed and dried to make the onion very, very mild–I don’t like raw onion as a general rule, but this baking soda bath totally tames it.)
5.75 ounces pimento olives, sliced (I had a 20 ounce jar, and kind of eyeballed about a quarter to a third of the jar)
about 4 Tbl. extra virgin olive oil (the original recipe called for a half cup, but that is too much, I think. I don’t measure, I just drizzle.)
juice of 1 lemon (original recipe called for 3 Tbl., but I like lots of lemon)
1-3 Tbl. red wine vinegar (the original recipe called for 3 Tbl., but I just added to taste after using the lemon juice. Without the vinegar, the salad will be very mild. It need a bit of vinegary bite, but not too much)
2 tsp. salt (this might be too much; I salted to taste)
1/8 tsp. pepper (or more, to taste)
2-3 tsp. sugar
1 medium can corn, drained
1 can (10 ounces or larger 14.5 ounces) chick peas, rinsed and drained

Combine everything. The original recipe called for mixing the dressing ingredients separately, but I was feeling lazy.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Too Beastly Hot to Cook Cauliflower Salad”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    Great summer recipe!

  2. Lauren Says:

    I’ve got pork chops that I defrosted for tonight and I really don’t want to turn on the stove! I can’t believe how hot it is! I just want ice cream for dinner.

  3. ilanadavita Says:

    It is so chilly in France that it is hard to imagine it is hot elsewhere. Nice looking recipe for when the weather does get warmer.

  4. Antipasto Salad | sel et sucre Says:

    […] Salad (adapted from Pragmatic Attic) Yield: 4 entrees or 8 – 10 […]

Leave a Reply

