Summer Rolls with Avocado, Roasted Red Pepper, and Sun-Dried Tomato

When I saw kosher rice paper rolls in Pomegranate, I so excited. Then I got home and realized I had no idea what to do with them.

My first attempt at making summer rolls involved rice noodles (from same Pomegranate trip!) and a recipe from a Williams-Sonoma cookbook:

This is my second go round, inspired by a recipe by Jacques Pepin, from More Fast Food My Way, Rice Paper Rolls with Avocado and Sun-Dried Tomato (scroll down). I changed the recipe around to suit my needs, and I have developed my own technique for softening and rolling the rice paper rolls.

I call my technique, the “matzoh brie/strudel method.” I soften the rice paper rolls the same way as matzoh for matzoh brie: a quick rinse under running warm water. I don’t wait for the sheet to get totally softened. I find that residual moisture on the sheet will get absorbed and it will finish softening as you fill and roll it. I place the partly softened sheet on a piece of plastic wrap, add my fillings, and then use the plastic wrap to help roll the thing up, the way that I use parchment paper to help roll up strudel (or the way you might use plastic wrap when rolling sushi).

Here I put my filling on the sheet: roasted red pepper, cilantro, avocado, sun-dried tomato bits in olive oil.

Then, I start folding, like for blintzes:

And it is finished:

If you are serving it right away, you can cut it in half on the diagonal and plate it. These are not supposed to keep very well, but, if you wrap them very tightly in plastic, they will be okay hours later (this was okay the next day).

Avocado, Roasted Red Pepper and Sun-Dried Tomato Summer Rolls

rice paper rolls
avocado (one avocado for every 6 rolls)
roasted red pepper (two peppers for every 6 rolls)
sun-dried tomato bits, soaked with olive oil (about Tbl. of chopped tomatoes for every roll, or one tomato half per roll)
cilantro (basil would be a good substitute, or some pesto)
scallions
salt, pepper

Place a piece of plastic wrap on your work surface. Moisten a sheet of rice paper under running warm water until pliant. Lay the sheet of rice paper on the plastic. Lay out the avocado, red pepper, sun-dried tomatoes, seasonings along the bottom third. Place cilantro sprigs or a basil leaf along the top. Fold up the vegetables in the rice paper like for a blintz, folding the bottom of the rice paper over the vegetables, tucking in the sides, and then rolling up to the end.

This might be nice with a sauce made from mayo and pesto and lemon juice (cilantro or basil pesto).

Bonus: these spinach, avocado, green beans and noodle rolls look worth trying.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Summer Rolls with Avocado, Roasted Red Pepper, and Sun-Dried Tomato”

  1. ilanadavita Says:

    This sounds and looks really good. I wouldn’t have known what to do with rice paper.

  2. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    That store is amazing. I haven’t seen kosher rice paper anywhere. Will have to seek some out next time I’m in Brooklyn.

  3. bubbe Says:

    These look amazing. Do you think that these could be served as an appetizer for a Shabbat lunch ???
    I would not want them to be soggy.
    Bubbe

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I made them to serve Friday night, but leftovers were delicious at Shabbos lunch. The key is to wrap them tightly in plastic wrap. They won’t get soggy, but they might dry out and get tough if you don’t wrap them carefully.

  4. Leora Says:

    They look delicious.

  5. Lauren Says:

    I’ve never tried making these at home. Paul loves the shrimp ones at Vietnamese restaurants, but I think I’d prefer avocado and roasted red pepper, which sounds a lot more flavorful.

Leave a Reply

