Asian Honey-Barbecue Tilapia

This recipe comes from Good Housekeeping, April 2006, the “Home Cooking/Restaurant Request” column. A reader had tasted this fish dinner–one of the best she’d ever had–at Tautog’s Restaurant at Winston’s Cottage. The menu at the Virginia Beach eatery describes this as “‘Oven-Roasted Tilapia glazed with a combination of Honey, Soy, Pineapple, Ginger and Asian Spices.

This makes a nice meal with brown rice and steamed string beans.

Asian Honey Barbecue Tilapia
Adapted from Good Housekeeping Magazine and Tautog’s Restaurant at Winston Cottage.

1 can (8 oz.) crushed pineapple in juice, drained (I wasn’t sure how much to drain; I ended up squeezing most of the moisture out, leaving me with about 1/3 cup of very dry pineapple pulp and about 3/4 cup of juice, which I reserved for another recipe)
1/3 c. finely chopped onion (I left this out; next time I might try using the white part of scallions, chopped, and garnish the finished dish with the green part, sliced)
1/4 c. honey
3 T. soy sauce
2 T. hoisin sauce (I used Soy Vey’s Garlic Hoisin sauce)
2 T. fresh lime juice I used half a large lime, which gave me closer to 3 Tbl. juice)
2 T. white wine ( left this out, but I might try adding Mirin next time; the sauce was delicious without it, so I think it is optional)
2 t. grated peeled fresh ginger (I used dried ginger, maybe 1/2 – 1 tsp.)
1 1/2 t. cornstarch
2 jalapeno chiles, seeds and membranes discarded, finely chopped (I used a 1/4 tsp. of Shiloh’s Medium Harissa)
1 garlic clove, finely chopped (I left this out because the Hoisin sauce I used was very garlic-ey)
4 tilapia fillets (about 6 oz. each)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

Make the sauce: mix together, in a small bowl, all the ingredients except the fish.

Place the fish in a baking dish (I would line with non-stick foil since the sauce can burn and stick). Spread the sauce over the fish.

Roast the fish for about 12-15 minutes, or until the fish is opaque all over and flakes easily. The original recipe calls for serving from the serving dish, but if your baking dish isn’t so pretty, or if you line the pan with non-stick foil, you could also use a spatula to transfer the fish to a serving plate.

Nice with yellow rice or plain brown rice.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Asian Honey-Barbecue Tilapia”

  1. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    Great Nine Days recipe. thanks for sharing.

  2. ilanadavita Says:

    Another great looking recipe. Nice photo too.

  3. Daniela@Isreview Says:

    Looks and sounds yum:) thanks

  4. Lauren Says:

    This sounds really yummy. I think if I chop the jalapeños finely enough, I can sneak them past Paul, who claims to not like them.😉

Leave a Reply

