Bread for Supper? Honey Quinoa Wheat Rolls

Bread for supper? Before you dismiss this idea as crazy or lazy, let me explain.

In the January/February 2011 issue of Kosher Inspired magazine, Sima Feiger offered a recipe for Honey Quinoa Rolls along with the observation that “Because quinoa is a complete protein, I am happy if my children eat one of these rolls even for dinner with some cucumber sticks and hummus. The kids are thrilled to have ‘challah’ as their meal, so it’s a win-win situation for everyone!”

This observation particularly resonated with me because my daughter is never so happy as when she has a big chunk of challah to eat.

With a simple green salad (or a more main dish salad–I have a nice salad with feta, chickpeas, and sunflower seeds that I am planning on making for dinner) and some bought Sabra salads (hummus, matboucha, etc.), bread really can be dinner.

I made my own variation on Sima’s recipe, and it worked like a charm with my daughter. She ran to get a piece of bread the minute she walked in the door and she ended up eating almost two rolls.

Honey Quinoa Wheat Rolls
Adapted from Sima Feiger’s recipe in Kosher Inspired Magazine. (Update: Kosher Inspired now has a website, and you can view the original recipe here) I didn’t have whole wheat flour or even regular bread flour, so I used all-purpose flour. For the soy milk called for, I just used water. I changed around the preparation method and the baking method as well.

First prepare the quinoa/oat pilaf, and let it cool before proceeding with the rest of the recipe:
1 cup quinoa
1/4 cup oats (the recipe called for quick, but I used old-fashioned)
2 1/2 cups water (original recipe called for 1/4 cup of this to be soymilk or dairy milk)
Cook the quinoa and oats with the water in a covered pot for about 15  minutes, or until the water is absorbed and the grains are tender. Let cool.

In Sima’s recipe, she calls for mixing the yeast with water and sugar, and then mixing in the honey, oil, salt and 1 cup of flour. After this is mixed, she says to add in the rest of the flour. I didn’t make the bread this way. I just put everything together and mixed:

3/4 cup warm water
2 1/2 tsp. yeast (I used a scant Tbl.)
1/3 cup honey (original recipe also called for 2 Tbl. sugar, which I just left out)
1/3 cup oil
2 1/4 tsp. salt (I used 1 Tbl. kosher salt)
4 cups flour (original recipe calls for 3 cups white bread flour, 1 cup whole wheat, I just used all-purpose because that is what I had; I started with adding 18 ounces, and maybe added 2 ounces more to adjust for texture, for a total of 20 ounces)

Combine ingredients and mix together until dough is fairly smooth. If it is sticky, don’t worry too much. Just dust the outside with flour before covering it to let it rise in the bowl. If it is not so sticky, you can coat the dough and the bowl with a little oil, cover, and let it rise for about 2 hours, or until doubled.

After the dough has risen, you can shape rolls, which you can place on baking sheets or in muffin cups. Sima’s recipe calls for preparing the rolls this way, and she gives a yield of 18-20. I used two loaf pans and filled each pan with 8 rolls, placed close together, for a total yield of 16 pull-apart rolls.

Sima calls for brushing the rolls with egg yolk and sprinkling with sesame seeds before setting them to rise. This is a good idea, but I didn’t do it. Next time, I would try sprinkling the rolls with poppy seeds. Let the rolls rise for another hour to hour and a half before baking at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. Since my rolls were close together instead of spaced apart, I needed to give the rolls another 10 minutes, for a total bake time of 35 minutes.

The bread is deliciously crunchy outside when freshly made, but, of course, the crust softens as the bread rests. When the crust has softened, the little crunchy bits of quinoa in the crust are more obvious and kind of sandy tasting. I think that this could be resolved with heavily coating the crust with poppy seeds so that the little crunchy bits of quinoa blend in better.

Tags:

7 Responses to “Bread for Supper? Honey Quinoa Wheat Rolls”

  1. Lauren Says:

    It looks like a lovely texture! I’ve never had quinoa before.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Just made these to break our fast on and they were great. I used a mix of whole wheat and bread flours and the texture was really nice.

  3. Rochie O Says:

    Sounds delicious and wholesome! Can’t wait to try out this recipe…

  4. sima Says:

    hi this is sima feiger… glad to see everyone is enjoying! i truly love this recipe… my husband eats them for breakfast several times a week, and my kids adore them. stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

