Ina’s Coconut Cupcakes, Parevized

Ina Garten says that these coconut cupcakes with cream cheese frosting were favorites at her Barefoot Contessa store. In the past, I have found cream cheese frosting not so easy to make pareve. This time, I tried something new and was pretty pleased, although the frosting doesn’t really taste that cream cheesey.

The original recipe yield is 18-20 large cupcakes. I made 2/3 the recipe, thinking I would get a dozen cupcakes. I had enough batter for 22 cupcakes, which means that a full recipe would have given me 33 cupcakes. I’m not sure what “large cupcakes” means, but it definitely isn’t referring to what comes out of my cupcake pans.

If you want to make these cupcakes, just follow the recipe on Food Network. To make them pareve, you can substitute shortening for the butter and soy milk with 2 tsp. of lemon juice or vinegar added for the buttermilk. I found that the cupcakes only needed about 25 minutes.

(here are the amounts needed for two-thirds of the recipe: 1 cup Crisco (7 ounces); 1 1/3 cups sugar (10 ounces); 4 eggs; 1 tsp vanilla; 1 tsp. almond extract; 2 cups flour (9 ounces); 3/4 tsp. baking powder (really 2/3 tsp., but I rounded); 3/8 tsp. baking soda (really 1/3 tsp.);  3/8 tsp. kosher salt (really 1/3 tsp.); 2/3 cup soy milk with 2 tsp. vinegar; 4.75 ounces coconut)

If you want to make this as a cake, take a look at how Ina Garten adapted the recipe to work as a cake.

“Cream Cheese” Frosting
This makes a modest amount of frosting–enough to lightly frost a two-thirds batch of cupcakes. If you leave out the marshmallow fluff and you want to more generously frost, you might want to increase the amount of frosting (6 ounces Tofutti, 6 ounces Crisco, 12 ounces confectioners sugar).

4 ounces Tofutti (half container)
4 ounces Crisco shortening (or margarine)
4 ounces Marshmallow Fluff (optional, increases volume and improves taste and texture, but makes frosting less dense and more marshmallow-ey than than regular cream cheese frosting; the texture is closer to regular cream cheese frosting with out the marshmallow fluff added)
8 ounces confectioners sugar (about 2 cups)
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. almond extract
1 Tbl. lemon juice, or to taste
coconut for sprinkling on top of the cupcakes after frosting

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Ina’s Coconut Cupcakes, Parevized”

  1. Lauren Says:

    When I was a kid, my parents always made a coconut cake for Easter that had coconut milk in it, which made it really moist and tasty. My mom hates the texture of coconut, so they had to find some other way to get the coconut flavor! I don’t remember whether it had cream cheese frosting or buttercream.

  2. Bubbe Says:

    I’m a big fan of coconut and lemon and these cupcakes certainly fill the bill almost as good as my childhood lemon on the top coconut on the sides cake. Does not taste pareve !!!
    Bubbe

  3. lisamichele Says:

    I love that you ‘pareve’ so many wonderful goodies. I have a special bookmark for your recipes, under ‘pareve’ of course lol Yummy looking and sounding cuupcake, and I love the cupcake liner! Bake it Pretty?

Leave a Reply

