Rosh Hashana Turkey Roast

This is another of my mom’s favorite poultry recipes. In fact, she makes it so often, it has become a signature dish. The recipe originally came from a cookbook from the Touro synagogue.

A sweet and sour recipe that is a snap to put together, it always gets raves. It is particularly useful for Shabbos and Yom Tov entertaining because it can be served at room temperature–no worrying about heating it up (and it drying out).

If I serve it warm, I like to cook down the gravy to concentrate it, and I serve the gravy on the side.

Mom’s Turkey Roast

Turkey Rost (about 4 lbs.)
1 cup ketchup
1 cup apricot jam
2 Tbl. soy sauce (I left this out for a soy intolerant guest–it is fine without)
2-3 onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced

Place the onions in a roasting pan and lay over the roast. Sprinkle over the garlic (I also sprinkle over paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper, but it isn’t necessary). Mix together the ketchup and jam and dump over the roast. Cover the roast and bake at 325 degrees(or 350 degrees) for 1 1/2 – 2 hours, or until done (179-180 degrees). Baste occasionally, and turn over halfway through (I don’t always bother, but my mom insists that this is important).

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Rosh Hashana Turkey Roast”

  1. Mrs. S. Says:

    What’s a “turkey roast”? The whole turkey? Just the turkey breast? The dark meat?

    I made a similar topping for a turkey breast and then baked it inside a cooking bag. We had it for the first day lunch on R”H, and it seemed to go over well.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Oh, sorry . . . A turkey roast is a turkey breast that is rolled up and trussed. I will post a picture. It is like a turkey “London Broil” cut (which is the same piece of meat, I think, just without the trussing). This would work with a turkey breast on the bone, too, I think, adjusting the cooking time of course, as needed.

      What was your recipe?

  2. Mrs. S. Says:

    Thanks for the explanation. That’s basically what I used – minus the trussing . Here it’s known as a “parpar” (butterfly).
    I combined honey, white wine, olive oil, soy sauce, some minced garlic, and a dash or two of pepper.

Leave a Reply

