My Favorite Holiday Salad Dressing

I made up this salad dressing specifically for Rosh Hashana, but I use it all the time.  Use it over salad with tomatoes, craisins, mandarin oranges, scallions, and thin Chinese noodles.

Rosh Hashana Orange Salad Dressing
You only need about a quarter of this recipe for a small salad.
1 cup oil
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp. Dijon mustard
1-2 Tbl. balsamic vinegar
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
orange juice, to taste (start with 4 Tbl.)
minced shallot

Tags:

7 Responses to “My Favorite Holiday Salad Dressing”

  1. Rivki Locker Says:

    This looks like a great basic salad dressing. Bookmarking it to try soon. Do you know how long it’ll last in the fridge? I made a similar one this yom tov, but I added some pomegranate juice for color (and holiday spirit!).

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Hmmmm . . . I think it will last a week, but I usually make enough for a salad or two and it goes pretty fast. Pomegranate juice–what a great idea! Oh, and I forgot to add balsamic vinegar to the recipe when I first posted–please note the recipe correction.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Wow..catching up to do! First off, a belated L’Shana Tova! Secondly, love the plum tart, the quinoa, the round braided challah and this dressing sounds delightful! I think I’ll whip some up in a jar tomorrow🙂 I like to ‘make and shake’ salad dressings lol

  3. Bubbe Says:

    do you use brown sugar ????

    Bubbe

  4. Lauren Says:

    I like using orange juice instead of the more usual lemon. I’m definitely trying this!

  5. Lisa Says:

    Good Yom Tov to you an yours, Laura!

Leave a Reply

