Lech Lecha: book recommendation

I’m not sure if I am going to be able to bake a parsha dessert this week, but I thought I would offer some links I like and suggest a book.

On the theme of a journey to self and a journey away from one’s birthplace, here is an interesting book that my mom’s book club is going to discuss:

My Father’s Paradise: A Son’s Search for his Jewish Past in Kurdish Iraq. Ariel Sabar.

For a fascinating interview of the author, go here.

Two parsha links:

Leaving or Going, Rav Avraham Fischer (Darchei Noam). A comparison of Avraham’s first trial and his last.

Smashing Statues–Harry on the Parsha. Avraham as iconoclast.

6 Responses to “Lech Lecha: book recommendation”

  1. Ilana-Davita Says:

    My Father’s Paradise is a wonderful book. My own review of a couple of years ago can be read here.

  2. Bubbe Says:

    Thank you so much for sending me to the blog book reviewer, This will be a great help when my book review group meets.
    Bubbe

Leave a Reply

