Latke-Palooza: Oven Fried Sweet Potato Latkes

It was about an hour before Shabbos and I got the idea into my head that I would make vegetable latkes. Not such a practical idea at that point in the day, but there was a recipe on the bottle of safflower oil for sweet potato zucchini pancake that sounded really good.

I wasn’t delusional enough to think that I could fry up individual fritters. Instead, I quickly mixed up the batter, slapped eight large patties onto a well oiled pan and threw the whole thing into a 500 degree oven. After a few minutes, when the laktes seemed to gotten firm enough to flip, I pulled the pan out of the oven and turned each pancake over and threw the pan back in the oven until they looked golden.

The results surprised me. First of all, the latkes tasted as if they were fried (with no mess!). Second of all, they had a delicate, sweet flavor and texture. The zucchini and sweet potato complemented each other in a way I didn’t expect. My husband said they reminded him of Ratner’s vegetable cutlets, but I thought they were much lighter.

Sweet Potato Pancakes
Adapted from a recipe on a bottle of Hollywood Safflower Oil

1 medium zucchini, 6 ounces (the original recipe called for 2 cups, but didn’t have time to measure)
1 medium sweet potato, peeled (the original recipe called for 2 cups, but I didn’t measure)
(1/2 cup onion, finely chopped–I didn’t add and didn’t miss it)
1/3 cup matzoh meal (I eyeballed this)
(2 Tbl. matozoh  cake meal–I didn’t add and it was fine)
1 1/2 tsp. salt (This first time I just eyeballed the amount rather than measure out the amount listed in the original recipe on the bottle of oil. I made this again and measured the salt–even 1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt is too much, use only 1/2 tsp. salt)
1/4 tsp. black pepper
3 eggs
oil

Grate the vegetables (I used the food processor). Combine the vegetables with the rest of the ingredients (except the oil).

You can either fry the batter in a pan with hot oil (4 Tbl. oil), or you can try oven frying: line a baking sheet (or baking sheets) with non stick foil and pour over some oil to coat. Drop batter over the sheet pan to make round pancakes (whatever size you like–I went with large and got 8 patties). Bake at 450-500 degrees until the top of the pancakes seem dry. Take the sheet pan out of the oven and carefully flip each pancake using a spatula. Press down on the pancakes to flatten them a bit if the pancakes aren’t sitting flat on the pan. Stick the sheet pan back in the oven and bake until golden brown.

Update: I made these again, making more normal sized pancakes and got 17 pancakes about 2″-3″ in diameter. I fried some and baked some. It took me about 20-25 minutes to fry and the same amount of time to bake, and I liked the baked just as much as the fried.

Another update: I made potato pancakes the oven baked way and discovered something important. Non-stick foil is KEY. Do not use regular foil to line your pan. Parchment might work, but regular foil makes the latkes stick. I discovered this halfway through and transferred the latkes to non-stick foil and all was well again. USE NON-STICK FOIL!

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “Latke-Palooza: Oven Fried Sweet Potato Latkes”

  1. Lauren Says:

    The combination of zucchini and sweet potato sounds like it would be really tasty. Making these in the oven probably helps with clean-up, as well. I get fat everywhere when I pan fry!

  2. Annette Says:

    how many latkes did you get from this? looks yummy and i’d like to make it but i’m cooking for nine…

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I was in a rush and made 8 huge latkes (5′ diameter), but I am sure that you could get 18-20 smaller latkes from this recipe. Are you making just one kind of latke? I like to make an assortment of different types. I think a double batch would be enough, especially if you are serving regular potato latkes as well.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I tested this again and I got the yield I suggested, almost 18. The only thing I would adjust is the salt. Use only 1/2 tsp.

  3. Annette Says:

    Hi again – I just made the latkes. I doubled your recipe but I only got about 18. Maybe I should have made them a bit smaller. I think I will make more tomorrow in addition to regular potato latkes. Do you think I could oven fry those too? By the way they look delicious and it was so easy!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I am going to try oven frying potato latkes myself. I linked to two oven fried potato latke recipes in another post, but I will link again here: “Don’t want to fry? You can oven-fry.  Take a look at this recipe from Kveller, based on a recipe from Melissa Clark. Or these from King Arthur (plus astep by step how to on the Banters Blog–this recipe combines oven frying with pre-cooking the potatoes). Both look so greasy-crispy you would never think they weren’t pan fried.”

      The Kveller recipe calls for oven frying the potato latkes at 425 degrees for about 20 minutes, flipping at the 12 minute mark. The King Arthur recipe calls for baking at 400 degrees for 20  minutes and flipping at the 10 minutes mark. When I made my sweet potato latkes, I cranked up the oven heat to 450 and baked for 20 minutes, flipping at the 8 minutes mark.

      Thank you for sharing your results and good luck with the potato latkes. Let me know how they come out. I will post my results when I oven fry my latkes.

      ________________________________

  4. Annette Says:

    The potato latkes came out great. No one could tell the difference. It did take a while to bake them, but there was no mess. Chag Sameach!

  5. Chanukah Recipes « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Of course you will want latkes: traditional potato, zucchini, and also sweet potato. […]

Leave a Reply

