Avocado, Tomato and Hearts of Palm Salad

I had this cool, refreshing salad at a friend’s house and then made it myself, with a few little changes.

Avocado Tomato and Hearts of Palm Salad
Adapted from from my friend Jessica, who got it from Susie Fishbein’s cookbooks Kosher by Design and Passover by Design.

4-6 scallions,  sliced (original recipe called for red onion, but I prefer scallions to raw onion)
2 limes, or 1 lemon (I used a lime and a lemon–I like lots of citrus with my avocado, but the original recipe called for just 1/2 a lemon; add the juice of half a lemon and then add more to taste.)
4 avocados, peeled, pitted, cubed (original recipe called for 5-6 avocados, but I used what I had)
15 ounce can sliced hearts of palm
1 pint grape tomatoes (original recipe called for slicing them in half, but I didn’t bother)
seasoning, to taste: schwarma seasoning or seasoned salt or just salt and pepper with a pinch of cumin
original recipe called for a heaping Tbl. of mayonnaise, but I just left this out (olive oil would be  good substitution, though)

Combine and season to taste. Jessica favors seasoning this with schwarma seasoning and a little minced garlic. I used a little seasoned salt, but the original recipe called for just some salt and pepper.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

