Low-Carb Red Pepper, Mushroom and Feta Breakfast Casserole (or how I used up all my extra eggs from Passover)

I had some eggs that I had to use up. Well, a whole lot of eggs, actually.

I may have bought a few too many for Passover. Just maybe.

It wasn’t that I didn’t bake enough. And it wasn’t a matter of not eating enough. In fact, maybe I ate too much.

I wanted some way of using up the eggs that didn’t involve yet another cake or cookie or brownie. And no more matzoh brie. I was looking for something low-carb that could be eaten over the course of a few days (or–better yet–frozen for much later consumption).

At first I was going to make the egg muffins from Kalyn’s Kitchen, but then I saw this breakfast casserole on her site. It calls for 18 eggs (just the amount that I had to use up!), plus feta, bell pepper, and mushrooms (all ingredients that I had on hand and that I needed to use up).

According to Kalyn, these egg muffins and casseroles reheat well and can even be frozen. I divided the casserole into eight portions for reheating as needed for a quick breakfast or light supper.

Mushroom, Red Pepper, and Feta Breakfast Casserole (or, The I Have to Use Up Pesach Eggs Plus Some Other Stuff in the Refrigerator But I Also Need to Diet Casserole)
Adapted from a recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen. I used red instead of green pepper, plus I added in some onion, farmer’s cheese and yogurt herb cheese. The farmers cheese was especially nice in this, creating pockets of soft creaminess in the eggs.

1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1-2 Tbl. olive oil, plus more as needed for sauteing vegetables
8 oz. sliced mushrooms, sliced
3 scallions, sliced
1 cup crumbled feta
1 cup farmer’s cheese (optional–I added this in because it was another thing I wanted to use up, and it added a nice creaminess)
1-2 slices of cheese (optional–use a cheese like yogurt herb or dill havarti)
18 eggs
salt, pepper, to taste

Grease a 8×10 (or 9×13 or 10×14) casserole pan. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
Saute the onions and red pepper in oil until tender and starting to brown. Sprinkle the vegetables with a little salt and pepper as they cook. Spread them on the bottom of the casserole pan. Adding more oil as needed, saute the mushrooms. Sprinkle over a little more salt and pepper. The mushrooms will give off liquid as they saute. Wait until the liquid evaporates and the mushrooms start to brown. Spread the browned mushrooms over the onions and pepper.
Crumble the feta over the vegetables. Crumble over the farmer’s cheese, if using. Put some shreds of cheese over everything, if using cheese.

Beat the eggs in a large bowl and pour them over everything in the casserole pan.

Put the pan in the oven and bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes, or until the eggs are firmly set and starting to lightly brown on top.

Cut the eggs mixture into eight to ten servings. Individual servings can be reheated for a low carb breakfast.
Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Low-Carb Red Pepper, Mushroom and Feta Breakfast Casserole (or how I used up all my extra eggs from Passover)”

  1. Leora Says:

    18 eggs! Whoa. Looks tasty, though I doubt I would make it due to the number of eggs. It also has more cheese than my cheese-loving-but-can’t-tolerate-too-much body could handle. Yum that it has feta. Love feta cheese. I eat small doses on noodles with scallions.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Yeah, I know, an insane number of eggs. But, I had to use up the eggs, and the casserole can be divided into serving portions and frozen until you want to use them.

      ________________________________

  2. Lisa Says:

    I would definitely make this for a crowd..this way, each person gets maybe two eggs in it, at the most, right? lol It looks extremely delicious. Unfortunately, didn’t get to have a seder this year, first time in my life, because my father was in the hospital, but we may do one once he’s better (knock wood). Thanks so much for your kind thoughts :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 59 other followers

