Lemony Red Lentil Soup

It has been drizzly gray around here. I have been making soups and stews. I particularly liked a red lentil soup that I found on My New Roots. Blogger Sarah Britton says that this is her favorite recipe, and I can see why. It has a lovely reddish-orange color, is easy to make, and has a delightful lemony flavor that comes from simmering whole slices of lemon with the lentils.

Here is the basic idea: saute a chopped onion, lots of garlic (5 cloves!), and a Tbl. of minced fresh ginger in a little oil until tender. Season with a Tbl. cumin, salt to taste and a pinch of cayenne pepper. Add sauteed mixture to a cup of rinsed red lentils along with a can of diced tomatoes and a quart of vegetable stock.  Add three thin slices of lemon and simmer until tender. Squeeze in some lemon juice and serve.

The general lack of light around here meant I never got a good photo of the soup, so just head on over to My New Roots for the recipe and a lovely picture.

Other red lentil soup recipes on my blog (all fantastic):

Coconut Red Lentil Soup

Lentil Pottage and Good Housekeeping’s Red Lentil Soup

Hila Solomon’s Baghdadi Red Lentil Soup

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Lemony Red Lentil Soup”

  1. Leora Says:

    “drizzly gray around here” – really? Here, too.

    Love a yummy lentil soup. I bought one can of coconut milk last week – still trying to decide which soup recipe to try with it.

  2. bracha Says:

    My favorite recipe for Red Lentil soup with lemon comes from the NY Times. It’s very easy and delicious: http://www.nytimes.com/2008/01/09/dining/091arex.html

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      That soup does look good–I will have to try that next. I like that there is a little tomato paste in it. Thanks for sharing!

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

