Latest Best Corn Muffins Ever

Give me 22 minutes, and I’ll give you a dozen of the best corn muffins you have ever tasted. Sweet and moist, with a maple-ey note that makes you think of corn pancakes drenched in syrup. This recipe originally appeared in Good Housekeeping at the request of a reader who had tasted them at Heathcote Tavern in Scarsdale, New York.

Heathcote Tavern’s Corn Muffins
Adapted from Good Housekeeping, January 2006, this recipe is from Heathecote Tavern in Scarsdale, New York.

1 1/2 cups flour (6.75 ounces)
1 cup cornmeal (4.25 ounces)
1/2 cup sugar (3.75 ounces)
1 Tbl. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt (originally 3/4 tsp.)
1/2 cup corn oil (originally melted butter)
2 eggs
3/4 cup soy milk (originally regular milk)
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons maple syrup (I couldn’t find my maple syrup–of course I found it when the muffins were in the oven–and used 2 Tbl. Log Cabin Natural, which is brown sugar and brown rice syrup with maple and vanilla flavors. This gave a strong pancake syrup flavor to the batter. Real maple syrup might be more subtle.)

In a mixing bowl, combine the cornmeal, sugar, baking powder,  salt and flour. Stir in the oil and mix until mixture looks like wet sand.

In a small bowl, combine the eggs, milk, honey and syrup. Stir the egg/milk mixture into the cornmeal/flour mixture just until the mixture is combined. The batter will be lumpy, like pancake batter.

You will have about 3-4 cups of batter, which will make 12 muffins. Fill 12 muffin cups, greased or lined, with the batter.

Bake at 375 degrees for 20-22 minutes.

These are not crumbly at all when fresh from the oven; the next day, they still hold together beautifully, start to get just a slight bit crumbly.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Latest Best Corn Muffins Ever”

  1. Leora Says:

    You are making me hungry. Maybe I’ll make these tomorrow instead of corn bread. Tempting to make them with butter…

  2. Irene Saiger Says:

    I have the same reaction, need to see if my daughter will switch recipes! Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. Leora Says:

    I made the muffins. I used butter and oat milk (I can’t tolerate cow’s milk at all, but I do fine with butter). They get an A on taste and a B on form (a bit crumbly).

    You have sugar in the ingredients but not in the recipe directions. I did add the sugar.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      oops . . . I fixed the recipe to show that you add the sugar into the flour mixture. Thanks for pointing that out. I found them not crumbly hot out of oven, but, yeah, later they get crumbly. I noticed it this morning.

      I’m glad at least taste-wise they met expectations. I was having one for breakfast and thinking how amazing they would be with butter.

Leave a Reply

