Chunky Chickpea Guacamole

smallchickpeaguactext

Chickpea guacamole is everything that is good about guacamole, but with an added extra satisfying heft to it. Serve this with chips as a snack or spread this on whole wheat toast (maybe sprinkled with a little crumbled feta) as a light lunch.

The proportions are not set in stone. You can increase the amount of avocado or increase the amount of chickpeas.

 

Chunky Chickpea Guacamole
Adapted from Meghan Oxley, who got it from Laurel, who got it from somewhere else.

14 ounces canned chickpeas, drained (you can use more chickpeas if you want this extra hefty)
2-4 avocados
10 ounce can diced tomato with chilies (Meghan emphasizes UNDRAINED, but I prefer DRAINED)
juice of 1-2 lemons or limes (this is not in the original recipe, but I think it is pretty key)
1/4 tsp. cumin, or more, to taste
salt and pepper, to taste

More optional add ins:
chopped cilantro
chili powder
1/2 sweet onion, minced  (I don’t  add this because I don’t like raw onion in my guacamole)
2 cloves garlic, minced (I don’t add this because I don’t like garlicy guacamole)
1 jalapeno, minced (I think the guacamole is hot enough from the diced tomatoes with chilies)

Mash up the chickpeas in a bowl and then mash in the avocado. Fold in the tomatoes with chilies (I prefer to drain the tomatoes, but you don’t have to drain them–I just think the color is nicer when the tomatoes are drained). Season to taste with the lemon juice, salt, pepper, a little cumin and, if desired, with the other optional add ins. Garnish with chopped cilantro.

The original recipe offers this final instruction: “Consume mass quantities.”

Update: I made a simplified version of this as a taco filling. I used more chickpeas, left them whole, and used a green salsa, which made for a more vibrantly green guacamole. I filled the taco shells with rice, the guacamole, diced tomatoes, feta and more salsa.

Chunky Guacamole Taco Filling
1 avocado, mashed
juice 1 lemon
Salt, pepper, to taste
green salsa, to taste
14 ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

Combine everything. Serve with taco shells, rice, chopped tomatoes, crumbled feta cheese and more salsa. Especially nice with a mix of green, yellow, red and orange tomatoes.

 

 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Chunky Chickpea Guacamole”

  1. Leora Says:

    If served, I’ll eat it! Yum.

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks. Yes, I think you would like this. If this sounds too complicated to make, you could try adding some mashed chickpeas to your regular guacamole. I love how chickpeas make guacamole more hearty while keeping the flavor more or less the same.

Leave a Reply

