Easy Latkes

smalllatkestext

Okay, so, like the cookies previously posted, these are really easier latkes. Easy latkes are the kind someone else makes. As long as you are doing more than just reheating, latkes are never really easy. But, this recipe comes close.

Here is the short-cut: refrigerated hash brown potatoes, which are cooked and shredded potatoes. To make the latke batter, just add eggs, flour, salt and pepper. The potatoes won’t change color because they are pre-cooked (and also treated with preservatives), so you don’t have to worry about your latkes turning grey-ish.

You can oven-fry them (that is really easy), but truthfully, they taste best fried.

I got the idea from Rachael Ray a few years ago, but never got around to trying it until this year.

Here is another thing on my to-try list: these oven baked latkes with add-ins like broccoli-cheddar, sweet potato-scallion, lemon-herb, and smoked paprika-red bell pepper. You will note that the recipe calls them mini-hash browns, but I say laktes.

Easy (okay easier) Potato Latkes
I got the idea from Rachael Ray, but I have tweaked the recipe a bit to get it how I like it. I have tried it with both flour and matzoh meal and I like it with flour much better. I have tried the latkes with and without the added onion, and with is better.

20 oz. hash brown potatoes
small onion, minced fine (optional, but latkes better with it added)
2 eggs
1/4 cup flour
1 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. black pepper

Combine everything in a bowl. Preheat a heavy skillet with an inch of oil. Use a 1/4 cup measure to shape the batter OR use a large spoon (larger than a Tbsp.) to shape the batter. It is a bit easier to use the large spoon, because you can put the spoon with batter right in the hot oil. If you use the 1/4 cup measure, you have to transfer the batter to a spoon anyway to put it in the oil.

Fry the latkes until golden brown on each side.

Yields 12-18 latkes.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Easy Latkes”

  1. Leora Says:

    I found latkes fairly easy to make this year, because I just took my potato kugel recipe and tweaked it a bit. Maybe the right size spoon would help, but truthfully, they seemed best when I used my hands to shape them. I suppose kitchen gloves might help.

    I used both flour and matza meal. Flour helps hold it together; matza meal adds a little more taste.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Oh, interesting! I looked on your blog for your potato kugel recipe and your latke variation and didn’t find it. Maybe you will post it? I have never been happy with my potato kugel recipe.

Leave a Reply

