Raw Brownie Truffles

smallrawtruffletext
These remind me of rum balls–intense chocolate-ey nuggets with a slight chewiness to them.  Actually, they are really more or less a chocolate-covered bite-sized Lara Bar, but with a lighter, brownie-esque texture. I keep these in the fridge or the freezer. Excellent as a quick pick-me-up snack, but pretty enough to serve at a party as a fancy candy.

I don’t remember exactly where I got the basic proportions for this recipe (I made this before Pesach and wrote everything down on a scrap of paper), but I remember looking at a recipe for raw date brownies by Chana Schottenstein on Joy of Kosher, (which is very similar to this recipe on Minimalist Baker) and that might have been my starting point.

I ended up making this three times, finally changing the nut I used, in order to get the right texture.

My first two batches of this were made with pecans. Only pecans. The first time I made it, I had the problem of the mixture becoming oiley when I tried to shape it into balls. At first, I thought this was a problem of how I mixed everything together:  perhaps the nuts were getting overheated and releasing oil as they were processed with everything else in the food processor? The second time, the mixture was okay as long as I handled it very gently.

Then I realized that the problem might be the pecans, so I researched the oil content of different nuts. Turns out that pecans are especially high in oil content, and almonds are much lower. Almonds are about 55 percent oil and pecans are 70 percent oil. A third batch of raw brownie made with almonds instead of pecans was lighter in texture and taste, more like a brownie than chewy fudge.

Raw Brownie Truffles
Use really soft dates. If you have hard, dry dates, it will be hard to get a smooth puree. Medjool dates are a good choice.

8 oz. almonds, ground (about 2 cups)
12 oz. pitted dates, chopped (about 2 cups)
1.5 oz. cocoa (9 Tbsp.)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. coffee powder
¼ tsp. salt, optional (third time I made this, I left this out and didn’t miss it)

8 oz. chocolate, melted (for coating)

Combine all (except melted chocolate) in food processor until you have a smooth paste. Roll the mixture into bite-sized balls (approximately 1″ diameter). Put the raw brownie truffles on a parchment lined baking sheet and put them in the freezer until they get hard.  Dip the frozen truffles into melted chocolate. Makes 2-3 dozen truffles (actual yield depending, of course, on how small you make them).

Note: if you are starting with whole almonds, first pulverize them in the food processor, then add the cocoa powder, vanilla and coffee powder, then process some more and then drop in the dates, while continuing to process, until you have a smooth paste.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Raw Brownie Truffles”

  1. Mrs. S. Says:

    Shavua tov and thanks for sharing!

  2. Leora Says:

    Yum. If you know a good place for really soft dates, please let me know. I am guessing at least my husband will eat these (he loves dates).

Leave a Reply

