Corn and Black Bean Salad

corn and black bean salad

The Real Food Daily Cookbook has recipes with some very unexpected flavor combinations. Take the above pictured corn and black bean salad.

Following the recipe, I put together a can of drained corn, a can of rinsed and drained black beans, a chopped red bell pepper, and chopped scallions. The salad also calls for chopped cilantro, which I left out. This says Mexican to me, so my usual inclination would be to flavor the salad with chopped jalapeno, chili powder, cumin, and lime juice.

Here, the salad is dressed with a combination of whole grain Dijon mustard (2 Tbl.), tamari sauce (3 Tbl.), and lemon juice (4 Tbl.), plus some olive oil and freshly ground black pepper. Interesting, right?

I still wanted the flavor of cumin and I’m not sure that the olive oil really added anything, but this was a very surprising and fresh tasting salad.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Corn and Black Bean Salad”

  1. Simple Summer Salads | Here in HP Says:

    […] Laura: Corn and Black Bean Salad […]

Leave a comment