100 Minute Babka and Danish Braid

IMG_0820

I put the 100 minute challah dough to new use: babka and danish braid.

I doubled the basic recipe, and changed the formula slightly to make it richer. Instead of 1/4 cup of sugar for a double batch, I added in 1/3 cup. Instead of 1/4 cup of oil, I used 1/2 cup. If I wasn’t in a rush, I might have added in a 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom or cinnamon or added in some vanilla.

After giving the dough the stretch and folds and rising time per the original recipe, I divided the dough in half.

Half the dough got stretched out to 10″ x 16″. I marked off the dough into thirds, with each third being 3″x16″. In the center third, I spread a layer of Four Fruits jam and a layer of frangipane filling based on a recipe from Beatrice Ojakangas that is in Baking with Julia (3 ounces of ground almonds, 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 teaspoon almond  extract, 1 egg white, 2 ounces of Earth Balance margarine, plus my addition of a teaspoon of coffee powder and a handful of chocolate chips).

Then I slashed the sides into strips and braided them.

IMG_0802 

Then came the egg glaze and a sprinkle of sliced almonds.

IMG_0804

Then I let it rise while I tackled the other dough (that took about 10-15 minutes). Meanwhile, the oven was preheating to 350 degrees.

I spread the other dough into the same size of 10″x16″ and spread the whole thing with a chocolate paste (scant 1/2 cup sugar, five hugely heaping teaspoons of Dutch-process cocoa (Callebaut) or about 1/4 cup cocoa, a generous teaspoon or so of coffee powder, 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, and four capfuls of corn oil (to equal 4 Tbl.). I left a margin of about 1″ on all sides. Some chocolate chips got sprinkled over and I tightly rolled it up. I ended up with a really long roll that I cut in half. I twisted the two halves together and egg glazed them and sprinkled on almond slices.

IMG_0805

IMG_0806

I baked off the danish while the babka rose. It took about a half hour to bake the danish. Then I baked the babka. Also about a half hour needed.

IMG_0810

IMG_0817

When the danish cooled, I drizzled over some coffee flavored glaze.

IMG_0821

Did it really take 100 minutes? I was pulling out my danish an hour and a half after I started making the recipe. It took another half hour to bake off the babka. So, it was really 120 minutes, but still . . . pretty fast for two yeast cakes.

IMG_0829_1

I am sending this to Yeastspotting and Bread Baking Day #22 at Hefe und Mehr.

Tags: , , , , ,

16 Responses to “100 Minute Babka and Danish Braid”

  1. Julia @ Mélanger Says:

    Oh these look lovely. How great is Beatrice’s recipes?

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Julia, you are so right. Beatrice has never steered me wrong. She has a cake in one of her books that is very much like the Perfect Party Cake in Dorie’s book, but it has this really yummy lemon cream cheese white chocolate frosting. Oh, it is just so good!

  3. Stefanie Says:

    It looks so yummy! I really have to try making a Babka!

  4. Hefe und mehr » Blog Archive » Bread Baking Day #22: Round-up Says:

    […] 100 Minute Babka and Danish Braid […]

  5. lisamichele Says:

    I saw your photo in the BBD roundup, and not only are your breads gorgeous in appearance, but what a clever idea to use a challah recipe to make danish and babka! Eggy, flaky goodness, and with chocolate no less! VERY well done!

  6. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks Lisa! But your chocolate swirl challah is still the prettiest . . . Love that! Still want to try it . . . But with cinnamon . . .

  7. sara Says:

    oh boy, you are just enticing me with all this deliciousness today. I really have to find some time to make these. They look amazing, great job!

  8. glenda Says:

    OMG, these look soooo good! You did a good job, especially on the braid!

  9. Susan/Wild Yeast Says:

    Wow and wow! I’m swooning here.

  10. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks Sara, Glenda, and Susan! Babka is so yummy it disappears in 2 seconds.

  11. YeastSpotting August 7, 2009 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] 100 Minute Babka and Danish Braid […]

  12. Hillary Says:

    Wow – it’s so golden and beautiful! YUMMM! Thanks for sharing! Feel free to submit this to Recipe4Living!

  13. Mimi Says:

    Delicious, they both look sooo delicious!

  14. Need to Knead? « Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] with just the stretch and fold method as the only real working of the dough (my posts are here and here, but here is the inspiration) […]

  15. Prune Danish Braid (use up your leftover lekvar) | Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] recipe lives on at CookEatShare thanks to a posting by Linda. For my earlier posts about this, go here and here. If you prefer to use your own challah dough, you will need the amount you would use for a […]

Leave a comment