Ruby Red Quinoa Salad

When I saw this post by Chanie for Israeli Couscous with Thyme and Honey Roasted Carrots, Beets and Parsnip, I immediately wanted to use her dressing in a quinoa salad.The only thing I changed about the dressing was reducing the thyme to a 1/4 tsp. Instead of using Israeli couscous with roasted carrots, beets and parsnips, I used diced canned baby beets, orange sections (mandarin oranges would have been fine, too) and dried cranberries. Plus, I added in some sliced scallion.

The beets and craisins tinted the quinoa an even more intense red.

Ruby Red Quinoa Salad

1 cup red quinoa cooked per package directions with 2 cups water or broth
handful or so of craisins
1/2 of a 14.5 ounce can of baby beets, diced
orange segments, peel and pith removed (supremes from one orange)
chopped red pepper
2 scallions, sliced
Chanie’s Dressing (2 Tbl. honey, 3 Tbl. orange juice, 3 Tbl. olive oil, 1 Tbl. balsamic vinegar, 1 heaping Tbl. orange marmalade–I used Smuckers Pacific Grove Orange Marmalade Medley–1/4 tsp dried thyme, plus salt and pepper, to taste)

Combine the cooked and cooled quinoa (I made this ahead and refrigerated) with the rest of the ingredients.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Ruby Red Quinoa Salad”

  1. Leora Says:

    Funny – I was planning to make a quinoa salad that was written in New Jersey Jewish News. You were supposed to garnish it with pomegranate seeds (craisins, too) – I thought it sounded lovely. Unfortunately, our pomegranates weren’t really ripe enough, and the seeds were sour. Did you have better luck with pomegranates than we did?

    Maybe I’ll post the quinoa pilaf that I did make.

Leave a comment