Cold Brewed Coffee

smallicedcoffeetext

I don’t know why it took me so long to try cold brewed coffee. It is easy to make, convenient to have on hand in the refrigerator and the taste is superior to regular brewed (less bitter). I started with a recipe from Dairy Made Easy (review of book to follow), but I then looked online for other recipes and tips on making this.

Here is the basic idea: mix coffee grounds with water, steep for 12 hours and then strain out the coffee grounds. It is kind of like sun tea.

The one thing that annoyed me about cold brewing was the mess of straining out the coffee from the water. I was taking out my coffee pot, putting a filter in it and then straining the coffee through that filter. It took more time than I would like and was messy.

Looking online, I saw that some people deal with this by using a nut milk bag to hold the grounds (kind of like a giant tea bag). You just pull out the bag with the grounds inside and discard the grounds. No filtering! You do have to clean the nut milk bag.

Here is my solution: fill a paper coffee filter with coffee grounds, staple the filter closed so that the grounds can’t escape and then brew. When the coffee is done steeping, just pull your homemade coffee pod out of the water and toss it.

I have played around a bit with how much coffee and water I use. I find that the most that the coffee filter can hold (and still be easy to staple closed) is between 6-8 tablespoons ( 1.5 to 2 ounces). I add 3 cups of water to this, but if you like your coffee stronger, you can add less (about 2 1/4 cups).

Cold Brewed Coffee
paper cone-shaped coffee filter
quart container
1.75-2 ounces of coffee (7-8 Tbl.)
3 cups water

First make your coffee pod. Put 7 Tbl. of  coffee in a cone-shaped coffee filter.  Fold the open edge of the filter shut, staple the folded edge, then fold over the stapled edge and staple again to tightly seal in the coffee. Now you have a coffee pod that eliminates the need for filtering after brewing.

Note: If you can fit 8 Tbl. of coffee into the pod and staple it shut without rupturing it–possible, but takes effort–use the larger amount of coffee for a stronger brew.

Stick the coffee pod into a quart container. Fill the quart container with the water. Push down the pod so that it is covered with water. Cover the container. Let the coffee steep for 12 hours. When the coffee is done steeping, pull the pod out of the coffee and discard it.

Done! You should have 3 cups of coffee.

Tags: ,

10 Responses to “Cold Brewed Coffee”

  1. Leora Says:

    I don’t really get it. Why not make coffee in a French press then stick in the fridge?

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Cold brewed coffee tastes different than what you get from a French press–less bitter and tastes fresher in the fridge for longer. I have a Keurig machine for making coffee (very convenient), but this makes better coffee.

      I originally made it because it seemed like a fun thing to try, but now I am making it because my husband prefers it to regular brewed coffee. It is hard to explain–I think you have to taste it for yourself to get it.

      If you mean, why don’t I use a French Press for cold brewing, the answer is that you can cold brew with a French press, but I don’t know where my French press is . . . .

  2. Bracha Says:

    Cold brewed coffee makes incredible ice coffee. In the summer, I always have a jar of cold brewed caffeinated and a jar of cold-brewed decaf in the fridge! This is the article that inspired me: http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/27/dining/27coff.html?gwh=4151E32AF6082EEBB2CF66F361FBE974&gwt=pay

  3. shilohmuse Says:

    Thanks, fantastic idea. I have filters I bought years ago when I used to use one of those coffeemakers.

  4. ahuva Says:

    Thanks for the idea. I also have a box of filters from years ago and I love iced coffee very strong. Do you brew it in the fridge or room temp?

  5. Couldn't Be Parve Says:

    Brilliant! I have been making coffee using your method ever since you posted it and it is so much more delicious and easier than other cold brewed methods.

Leave a comment