Garlic Paprika Tilapia

My grandmother A”H used to make wonderful garlic carp. She would take carp steaks and rub them with garlic, salt and paprika and then bake the fish for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. This carp was one of her fish specialties, along with pickled salmon.

I tried this with some tilapia filets, and the delectable smell of this cooking brought my family to the table in record time.

Here is what I did: mashed garlic to a paste with a little salt and rubbed it all over the fish filets (1 clove was enough for three filets). Sprinkled over a very generous amount of paprika. I added a light sprinkle of Paul Prudhomme blackened fish seasoning (which has paprika, herbs, garlic powder, onion powder and some other spices).  Then I drizzled over some olive oil and rubbed the oil and seasoning into the fish.

I roasted the fish at 425 degrees for about 20 minutes (it was really done after about 10-15 minutes, but my husband likes his fish really well cooked).

Bonus: Sierra has a recipe for sauteed tilapia with tomato garlic  sauce that looks nice. I was originally thinking of serving my tilapia with tomato sauce, but the fish got eaten up before I had a chance to implement this plan.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Garlic Paprika Tilapia”

  1. ilanadavita Says:

    This sounds, and looks, excellent!

  2. Leora Says:

    That does sound good. Mmm, roasted spicy fish.

  3. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks, Leora and IlanaDavita! It is a simple thing, but there is something irresistible about the combination of paprika, salt, garlic and oil, especially with anything roasted. It is great with roasted chicken, too.

Leave a comment