Triple Ginger Pecan Cookies from The Cancer Fighting Kitchen

These cookies are from The Cancer Fighting Kitchen, by Rebecca Katz. I’m not sure why they are triple ginger because I see only powdered ginger and candied ginger in the recipe. Does anyone else see the third type of ginger? It doesn’t matter, the cookies are delicious and healthy (well, healthier). Katz’s book explains the health value, particularly during cancer treatment, for use of ingredients like ginger, coconut oil and alternative flours (this recipe uses spelt and barley), and some of this information is available on her website.

Triple Ginger Snap Cookies with Pecans
Adapted from The Cancer Fighting Kitchen. I note the changes I made to the recipe, plus I have added in the weight of some ingredients.

Combine the following in a saucepan and bring to a boil, stirring, then let cool completely:
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted (I used 4 Tbl. coconut oil and 4 Tbl. safflower oil)
2 Tbl. butter (I used 2 Tbl. safflower oil)
2/3 cup rapidura (I used 5 ounces Demarara sugar)
1/3 cup molasses
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 Tbl. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. cloves

Whisk into cooled oil/sugar mixture:
1 egg, beaten slightly

Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and then stir in the oil/sugar/egg mixture:
1 1/3 cups barley flour (6.75 ounces, 195 g.)
1 1/3 cups spelt flout (7.25 ounces, 205 g.)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/8 tsp. sea salt

Stir into the batter:
3/4 cup pecans (3 ounces)
3 Tbl. chopped crystallized ginger(1.25 ounces, 35 g.)

Put batter into a 9″x5″ loaf pan lined with parchment paper (I just shaped the dough into a 9″x5″ rectangle and wrapped it in parchment). Chill the dough for at least three hours (or overnight). Slice the chilled dough into two logs, each 9″x2.5″. Slice each log thinly. I sliced the cookies to slightly different thicknesses, but found that the best thickness was between 1/8″ and 1/4″, or the thickness that you would normally roll out cookie dough when using cookie cutters. Bake at 400 degrees  for 7-9 minutes. The recipe says to space cookies 1″ apart on the baking sheet, but I spaced them closer and then just pulled apart the cookies that spread into each other and fused together during baking. The stated yield for the recipe is 38 cookies, but I got much more, at least 4 dozen.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Triple Ginger Pecan Cookies from The Cancer Fighting Kitchen”

  1. Healthy Shtreimel Cookies: Blythe Danner’s Macrobiotic Thumbprints with Chocolate Filling | Pragmatic Attic Says:

    […] Well, not until now, that is (I had to use up the barley flour I bought to make my sister-in-law these other cookies). The recipe for thumbprint cookies that is online now is a little different from the recipe that […]

Leave a comment