Sufganiyot, Jerusalem

sufganiyotcollage

My husband was in Israel on Chanukah and didn’t eat any sufganiyot. The lines were too long and he didn’t have the cheshek. But, as you can see, they really looked amazing. There is this new thing (well, new to me, anyway) (correction: apparently, this a just-new-to-me-in-the boonies-of-Chutz La’Aretz thing) of putting the filling into a plastic pipette, which you squirt into the doughnut yourself before eating it. Is this to prevent sogginess? Is it just a trendy thing? Does anyone know?

 

 

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Sufganiyot, Jerusalem”

  1. Bracha Says:

    They call it a “chaser.” Rolladin bakery (which pretty much introduced fancy sufganiot) started using them a few years ago to infuse liquid. I imagine its to prevent the donuts from getting soggy.

  2. Bracha Says:

    Also – I think it was trendy when it started, but at this point, it’s pretty mainstream around here!

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      Oh, I see-thank you for explaining! Now I just have to figure out where to buy plastic pipettes and then I can try it myself. I don’t think anyone here is making sufganiyot like that (but, I could be wrong about that).

      Chanukah Sameach!!

Leave a Reply

