BBA Challenge English Muffin

IMG_0547

I decided to compare Peter Reinhart’s English Muffin recipe from The BBA with Dan Lepard’s recipe. Both were so delicious, I made another two batches. For my second set of English Muffins, I made the Dan Lepard recipe again and a whole grain recipe from Get Your Buns in Here (Laurel Wicks).

IMG_0544

So what is my conclusion? I give the edge to Dan Lepard’s recipe. It is the most time consuming, but the taste is the most complex and the nooks and cranies seem to be more dramatic.

IMG_0537

The Lepard links for describing the mixing and kneading techniques do not seem to work, so check out Foodbeam’s explanations (see the focaccia and English muffin posts)

I think I will submit this to Yeastspotting.

IMG_0538

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “BBA Challenge English Muffin”

  1. Susan/Wild Yeast Says:

    Dan Lepard’s recipe is interesting, with both cider vinegar and yoghurt. Yes, you did get lots of nooks and crannies!

  2. pragmaticattic Says:

    Thanks, Susan! Yes, Dan’s recipe is great for getting nooks and cranies. And the butter in the recipe makes them taste like they have already been buttered. Freshly made, they are really amazing. I’m spoiled now. I can’t go back to store bought.

  3. YeastSpotting 7.10.09 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] English Muffin […]

  4. Y Says:

    I love Dan Lepard’s recipes, but have never tried making English muffins. Not sure why. Never really felt an affinity with them, I guess – but I have yet to eat some homemade ones!

  5. ATigerintheKitchen Says:

    Wow….lovely muffins. I just made my BBA ones yesterday but now I’m tempted to try Dan Lepard’s recipe! Thanks for sharing…

Leave a comment