Zucchini Yellow Tomato Goat Cheese Pizza

I tried out yet another pizza dough recipe, this time from Moosewood Restaurant New Classics. The basic dough is 3 cups of bread or all-purpose white flour, 1/2 cup of whole wheat, 1 1/3 cups water, 1 Tbl. yeast, plus sugar, oil, salt, and–here was the interesting part–1/2 tsp. ground pepper. The pepper really affects the dough (maybe more so because my pepper was coarsely ground).

I divided the dough into four pieces. Each piece makes a 9″ personal pie. For one of the pies, I topped the dough with a thin layer of sauce, sliced baby bella mushrooms, very thinly sliced zucchini, and yellow grape tomatoes. Then a little salt, pepper, and olive oil. Baked as usual. After the pizza was done, I added some goat cheese and put the pizza back in the oven to warm through the cheese.

This was really, really good. Healthy, easy, savory.

Overall impressions of the dough: Nice, although I would use a more finely ground pepper next time. I think a bit of dried herbs in the dough might be nice. The whole wheat adds a nice flavor without making the dough taste whole wheat-ey. I like an all whole wheat crust, but this is definitely a nice middle ground for the whole wheat phobic.

Here is a link to another blog post that uses this dough for spinach feta calzones.

Sending this to Yeastpotting.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Zucchini Yellow Tomato Goat Cheese Pizza”

  1. YeastSpotting July 16, 2010 | Wild Yeast Says:

    […] Zucchini Yellow Tomato Goat Cheese Pizza […]

Leave a comment