M Cafe’s Curried Cauliflower Salad

M Cafe de Chaya’s Curried Cauliflower Salad. An easy dish disguised as an overly complicated recipe.Thoughts: The recipe is a little odd in calling for you to make a massive amount of spiced nuts, of which you use very little. I cut the recipe in thirds, using only a single head of cauliflower.  I only needed about 3 Tbl. of curried cashews for this recipe, so I roasted them at the same time as the cauliflower.

The only trick with this approach is that you have to pull the cashews out very soon and the cauliflower needs lots of roasting time. So, you have to put the nuts on a separate pan or piece of foil or parchment.

I think that the cauliflower needs lots more roasting time than the recipe calls for. The florets were done on the outside, but not as meltingly tender on the inside as I prefer. They were done, but I like my cauliflower really, really well done.

Next time, I would roast the cauliflower and nuts for the time that the nuts need at the temperature that the nuts need (350 degrees for 20 minutes), and then, after taking out the nuts, crank up the heat to 400 degrees and roast the cauliflower for another half hour.

Once you have made the roasted nuts and cauliflower, the salad is really a snap to pull together. The recipe seems way more complicated than it is. Just mix the nuts, cauliflower, defrosted frozen peas, chopped apricots, and chopped red pepper with some cilantro, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, and agave syrup or honey. I left out the cilantro because it turns some people off (although I love it).

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment