Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This wonderful summery salad was inspired by this, but I have added my own little tweaks. I actually forgot that the first time that I made this, I threw in some dried cranberries. Then a friend reminded me and told me that it is that touch of tangy sweetness that really makes the salad. So, don’t leave them out!

Quinoa Salad with Tomatoes, Mint, Scallions and Craisins
Adapted from GlutenFreeGoddess, Quinoa Salad with Lime + Fresh Mint

1 cup quinoa
1 clove garlic (I like this mild, so I use maybe 1/4 tsp. minced garlic)
2-4 Tbl. olive oil
juice from 1-2 limes, depending on how juicy they are (after using the juice of a lime, add more to taste if necessary)
2-4 scallions, sliced
mint (handful), chopped
pint of grape tomatoes, halved
handful of dried cranberries
salt, pepper, to taste

Prepare 1 cup of quinoa according to package instructions (simmer in 2 cups water until water absorbed and quinoa tender).
Mince a clove of garlic and stir it into the hot quinoa (I find that this takes the raw edge off the garlic).
Add juice of 1 or 2 limes (depending on how juicy they are), 2-4 Tbl. olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste.
Toss in sliced scallions (about2-4 ), chopped mint (couple of sprigs), halved grape tomatoes (about a pint),  and a couple of handfuls of dried cranberries.

This is a great salad for Shabbos or for packing to take to work for lunch.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad”

  1. ilanadavita Says:

    This reminds me of taboulé or whatever you call it in your neck of the woods.
    Have you tried to cook quinoa in a microwave oven? It works remarkably well.

  2. Rivki Locker (Ordinary Blogger) Says:

    I just planted mint last week and it’s already growing like wild! This will be a wonderful recipe to put it to good use. I find that quinoa gives me a stomach ache, but maybe I’ll try it again. Or I bet I could make this same dish with pearl barley, bulgur, or wheat berries.

    • pragmaticattic Says:

      I think using bulgar would work perfectly. You could also use couscous or the larger Israeli couscous or rice. I have the same problem with wheat berries–I love them, but they are kind of hard to digest.

  3. ilanadavita Says:

    I did this just before Pesach. I ggogled “quinoa” and “microwave”. I think this is where I got the information:
    http://www.ehow.com/how_4412361_cook-quinoa-microwave.html

  4. Simple Summer Salads | Here in HP Says:

    […] Laura: Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad […]

Leave a comment