Vegetarian Chili

I am usually pretty lazy when it comes to vegetarian chili, but I had an eggplant and zucchini to use up and I did not want to make ratatouille again. I tried a recipe from Simply Recipes and was very pleased.

Here is what I left out of the original recipe:

  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1-2 Tbsp chili powder (I used just a bit of chipotle and ancho chili powder, to taste)
  • 2 Tbsp fresh chopped oregano or 2 teaspoons dried (I used 1 tsp.)
  • Zest of one lemon
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro

I must try it with those ingredients added in, especially the red wine.

Leave a Reply

